two weeks


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Etiolles
September 10th 2010
Published: September 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So week two is now winding to an end…
I am exhausted and I think that it is just from all the walking I have been doing. I have decided for this month that I would not buy a bus pass so that I would be forced to explore the city by foot and thus expand my knowledge of Paris and discover new things. Which I have done. This has also resulted in my walking over 8 miles on Tuesday (I even took the metro to my destination; I just refused to take it coming back).
This week I have found a place to live for October! I will be renting a bed on the top floor of an artist’s studio. She is really nice, older and very set in her ways. But she has a heart for people and is very pleasant to listen to and talk to. I am excited about being in a different space next month! I really like to Foyer Porta, but change is always good! The only downside is that the location is on the edge of town…which means I need to find a bike!
This week it also rained for the first time yet, so I had the pleasure of wearing my trench coat (thank you grandparents). The weather is still very nice, in the 70s…
September is a month of parties “rentrées” (if you will) as everyone takes off in August for vacation and then upon coming back, is welcomed back in style with many conferences, food, and an overall joyous atmosphere. I went to the embassy’s wine club rentrée yesterday evening and went home with a bottle of wine, of which hopefully I will have someone to share it with soon…
The French people are also some of the friendliest. You can really say this of a variety of people/cultures but I will add it about the French.
I had the best baguette in Paris today (voted so in 2006) one of my projects this nect week is to find the 2010 winning baguette.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb