Second e-mail


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
January 17th 2008
Published: January 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Bridge on the Way UpThe Bridge on the Way UpThe Bridge on the Way Up

This was the bridge we traversed on the way up to Chamonix (taken when we were on our way down). NOT recommended for the acrophobe.
Hello Everybody,

I have a little to update on my status since the first e-mail I sent. I have been pretty preoccupied with my intensive course. We have class for two hours in the morning, an hour of lab, a break for lunch, and then another two hours of class. The professors speak in - what I think - is a typical lecturing manner, but I can follow everything pretty well. (Except for the other day when I had no idea we had homework to do... oops!) There are students from all over the world at the CLA. I have met a German, a Swiss, Koreans, Japonese, South Americans (not sure where from), and Africans (again, not sure which country).

It rains cats and dogs here on a regular basis, so I'm glad I brought an umbrella with me. The only problem is that it has an awful predilection to flip inside out, making me the butt of many laughs! This last weekend, I went to Chamonix in the Alps with other students from the CLA and from the University. It was absolutely incredible! We left at 6AM on Saturday morning, drove through Switzerland, and arrived at one of
Saturday 1/12Saturday 1/12Saturday 1/12

The first day was unbelievably cloudy. It was impossible to know where I was going on the slopes. I'm glad I didn't fly off Mont Blanc!
five resorts. It was so snowy and cloudy that thrown snowballs were impossible to follow as they would disappear almost instantly after being thrown. I have never been so snowblind, it was a frightening experience to ski along and drop into dips and holes without any advance notice! The first day left a little bit to be desired, but my disappointment would only last for a little while. After skiing, we took a little tour through the town of Chamonix which is very lively and festive (and expensive). I had the opportunity to try some vin chaud, a regional drink created with heated red wine, cinnamon, and some other unidentifiable spices. It tasted much like apple cider with a little kick in it! The evening was spent at a chalet hidden in the forests above Chamonix. We enjoyed a meal representative of the Savoy region called "les raclettes". The most characteristic aspect of the meal is miniature oven in which you melt a special cheese in a metal tray and then drizzle the melted cheese on your potatoes... exquisite! I find the food here to be extremely fresh and filling, so my stomach is very content! After enjoying chit chat
Chalet ViewChalet ViewChalet View

This was taken in the morning after our night in the chalet above Chamonix.
and a game of French Scrabble, I hit the sack. The next day was unbelievably gorgeous and made the entire trip worthwhile by itself! I cannot possibly describe the Alps with sufficient justice so I've attached pictures of them. It was incredible, simply put. The only problem was that everybody else in the world with a set of skis or a snowboard had the same feelings, so we didn't actually start skiing until almost lunch time. I have made a promise to myself to ski in Chamonix again in my lifetime and would highly recommend that you do the same!

I am now in the process of creating my travel plans for the first vacation coming up in February. I go to Paris for four days from Feb. 15-18, and then after that... maybe Iceland, maybe southern France, maybe Mars, who knows!? I'm also in the process of falling asleep and drooling on my computer, so with that I bid you all good night! Enjoy the pictures, and I hope all is well on the home front!

Grandes bises,
Damon


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

ChamonixChamonix
Chamonix

A vibrant and festive town, Chamonix is a popular ski resort in not only France but in Europe. Signs are in French, German, English, Spanish, and Italian.
Morning viewMorning view
Morning view

I can't recall the name of this particular mountain, but it made my mouth drop when I walked out of the chalet that morning!


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb