Bike Trip to Chenonceau


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Amboise
August 10th 2013
Published: August 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The great thing about staying in a B&B is the quaintness and the fact that the owner is usually extremely friendly. That's certainly how it is where I'm at. This morning I literally opened my door to the living room, and sat down to a home-cooked breakfast. The family dog, Farah, laid at my feet the entire time. And I think I definitely got on the host's good side by admiring her book collection, especially her prized book of Charles Baudelaire's poetry. She's letting me have breakfast earlier than usual tomorrow, since I have to leave early.

After hopping on my bike, I set off for the relatively leisurely ride down to Chenonceau, the absolute best of the many chateaux in the Loire. The ride was a little over an hour, and wound through a beautiful countryside full of sunflowers, farms, hay, and horses. Also went right through the dark and cool forest of Amboise. In at Chenonceau by around 10ish, and basically spent up until around 2 in the chateau.

It's not that Chenonceau is especially big, but it does attract tons of tourists. Going around its plush rooms usually required pushing my way through crowds of people. And yet oddly this didn't really bother me. People usually dispersed relatively fast, and there was never any horrible back-ups. Afterwards, the ride back was a bit slower, since the heat and fatigue got to me, but in at Amboise by around 4.

Rest of the day was spent enjoying my last night here, and relaxing. Tomorrow I continue North, going to Mont St. Michel, the great monastery island. Then, finally, Monday is Paris.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Promenade to ChenonceauPromenade to Chenonceau
Promenade to Chenonceau

10 minute walk leads right to chateau.
The River Cher The River Cher
The River Cher

Chenonceau is built river over the Cher.
The Gallery The Gallery
The Gallery

This is the stretch that goes over the Cher.
The Bread OvenThe Bread Oven
The Bread Oven

In the kitchens.
Francois I RoomFrancois I Room
Francois I Room

Wonderful Renaissance fireplace.
View of Gardens View of Gardens
View of Gardens

Gardens of Diane de Poitiers, a king's mistress who lived here.
Another RoomAnother Room
Another Room

These flowers made the entire floor smell good.
Chateau View from GardenChateau View from Garden
Chateau View from Garden

From another garden, the Catherine de Medici.
Good View of ChenonceauGood View of Chenonceau
Good View of Chenonceau

Really see how it spans the Cher.
Backyard of B&BBackyard of B&B
Backyard of B&B

Room right on the lower floor, over to the left.


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb