First Day in the Loire


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Amboise
August 9th 2013
Published: August 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Entrance to Royal Chateau at AmboiseEntrance to Royal Chateau at AmboiseEntrance to Royal Chateau at Amboise

That chapel right above is actually where da Vinci is buried.
Left an overcast Les Eyzies in the early morning, setting out on a day of something like 4 train transfers. First up to Perigueux, then over to Liborne, until finally taking the fast TGV up to St. Pierre des Corps, and then the regional train 10 minutes to Amboise. Here by around 3:30ish. Nice and easy, plenty of time for transfers.

I'm here in the Loire because this is the part of France where all of the best chateaux are located. They stretch up and down the Loire from here in Amboise up to Blois, and then also in the surrounding countryside. Past kings of France have at various time lived here, and their nobles, to be close to court, built grand mansions in the same area. Another cool fact about Amboise is that this is where Leonardo da Vinci came to basically retire, invited to Amboise by Francois I in something like 1515 or so. I actually saw the tomb today where da Vinci is supposedly buried, and his house is literally just down the street from my B&B.

And speaking of this B&B, it is an awesome place - another room in a nice older woman's house.
Summer BloomsSummer BloomsSummer Blooms

At the chateau.
I have this huge room, and she lets me use her back-yard and patio, and there's also a big, hairy dog that seems to like me. I'll take some photos before I leave.

Tomorrow I've rented a bike to head down an hour or so to the greatest chateau in the area, Chenonceau. It's funny, I told the guy my sad story about Les Eyzies, and he went to great lengths to assure me that his tires would never explode, and that if for some reason they did, he would drive out and pick me up wherever I was. He gave me his number and everything. Nice guy, and hoping my luck holds.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Da Vinci Chapel Da Vinci Chapel
Da Vinci Chapel

No one is absolutely certain that he's buried here - but most people like to think he is.
Grave MarkerGrave Marker
Grave Marker

Over in that corner is the da Vinci marker.
Good View of Chateau Good View of Chateau
Good View of Chateau

Perched on a cliff overlooking Amboise and the Loire.
Looking Down on LoireLooking Down on Loire
Looking Down on Loire

From chateau ramparts. The Loire is the longest river in France, and the only one that's still completely untamed by dams.
Fireplace in ChateauFireplace in Chateau
Fireplace in Chateau

Just liked it.
Chateau GardenChateau Garden
Chateau Garden

Perfectly maintained.
Church of St. DenisChurch of St. Denis
Church of St. Denis

Just liked this place. On a hill opposite the chateau. An old Romanesque place built on the remains of a Roman temple.


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0862s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb