Vines and Poppies


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy » Auxerre
June 5th 2012
Published: June 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Decided to walk through the vineyards today so, arrived at the station in time to catch the 10h16 train. Right at the last minute, a guard rushed over, informing us all that there was a platform alteration that hadn't been announced! Thirty people suddenly upped sticks and dashed across the tracks to the far platform where our train was waiting.

Fifteen minutes later, the train pulled in to Champs-Saint-Bris. Leaving the platform by the main station building, I headed up the road, crossing the main N6 and began to walk up towards St. Bris.

My first poppies of the day blew gently in the breeze by the side of the road. Shortly after, I turned onto a minor road and then into a stony track heading uphill. Following the little red and white GR waymarks, I wandered through vineyards eventually finding myself in the middle of nowhere.

Continuing through the trees, I finally came to a deserted and derelict Colonie de Vacances where there was an amazing view of the surrounding area.

After a short stop for a drink, I headed through the trees, coming out in the middle of another field of vines where I headed down to the road. With vines all around, as far as the eye could see, I climbed up the track opposite, eventually coming to an open area where I took lunch.

After eating, I walked along the edge of a wheat field before descending, through vineyards, into Irancy. Various tracks came in from all sides, but finally I found myself on the main street. A number of cellars were offering free wine tastings but I was wanting to leave the tasting for another day.

Leaving the village past a reed-bed sewage works, I walked to Vincelotte and into Vincelles, where I caught the 17h30 train back to Auxerre, and tea!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb