Anarchy in the U.K. (Day 23 to Day 29)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany » Saint-Malo
February 3rd 2010
Published: February 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ireland was incredible, Scotland was a divine revelation and England was ... ok? Even If I had a blast in London, England in general is totally outmatched by its two neighbors ... from a traveller point of view. I'm glad to be on the continent now, especially for the food ... and a few other things.

After a once in a lifetime experience in Scotland, my stay in York and Oxford was a bit of a disappointment.
York c'est un peu comme la ville de Quebec : Super beau, meme cute, tres propre ... pi c'est ca! Pour ce qui est de Oxford, c'est probablement mieux y etudier que la visiter.

But London on the other hand, was great! In my opinion, it is a bit like New York City : I wouldn't live here but it is definetly worth visiting. There's so much things to see and to do that it deserves more than a few days. J'aurais pu passer une semaine au complet seulement a visiter les musees (les plus nices que j'ai jamais visiter ... et gratuit!). Et Ng m'a offert un accueil que je ne suis pas pret d'oublier. Il est devenu un grand chef-cuisiner ici a Londres et il connait les meilleurs endroits et le bon monde. C'est tout ou rien! Soit que je passe la soiree la plus jet set possible a Londres ou soit que je bois une bouteille de whiskey a 5$ la bouteille dans un dortoire avec mes co-chambreurs de 19 ans. Vous vous demandez qui est Ng? Et bien il allait a mon secondaire et etait un an plus vieux (il l'est encore!), avant de travailler au Petro-Canada en face du Cheers a Brossard ... quand ils nous laissaient nous procurer de la biere apres 23h...

Finally I visited Canterbury and Salisbury. These are not highlights but I've read a few books about these two old towns and was glad to find myself in places I've read about. And to conclude, Stonehenge, one of the best "tourists-trap" ... but I still had to see it with my own eyes.

Even If I had one of my best night here in England, I know this blog is not as cheerful as the previous ones. In fact, it just reflects how it was ... some kind of Grey Britain.

But don't get me wrong, I'm very enthusiastic about
what's coming up. I keep the smile and don't complaint. In fact, I couldn't be more grateful.

Cheers to all of you!

Nik xxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Oxford ... !?Oxford ... !?
Oxford ... !?

Just thought this photo looked good...


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb