So again, it’s been a long time...but I did add lots of photos!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany » Lorient
June 5th 2009
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After April break, I was, of course, back with the Courtets. I dropped normal-English but stuck with History-English, where we are currently studying WWI from the British perspective. Next Tuesday I get to do the talk about me and the US, which, with this class, shouldn’t be that bad.

My teacher for Literature broke her wrist three weeks ago, in something involving a race of some kind, I’m not sure what. She was replaced two weeks ago, and we have been rushing to finish the program ever since. The new teacher knows her stuff, but is not as charismatic as the last one.

In History, we have almost finished the program, and technically, will finish Tuesday morning, just before the ‘Conseil de classe’ where not only will all of the grades be in, but the teachers share opinions on each student individually.
In Math-I still do the work in a third of the time as anyone else.

In Science: I like Physics, even if the teacher doesn’t think that it’s important to teach additive color mixing, and don’t like Bio/Geology/Anatomy because I don’t like the topics.

In Phys Ed: Climbing the wall is not as fun as climbing trees. Evaluations were last Thursday, and technically I should never have to climb anything other than stairs, ladders, or mountains ever again.

In German, despite the fact that I’m way behind, I still get decent grades because the teacher is nice to me. And she’s nice because in class I shut up and listen, and I do my homework.

No more Philosophy-that hour was given over to the cause of finishing the curriculum in Literature.

In Art-We’ve talked about some interesting movements, seen some videos that nearly put me to sleep, and done some practical work that I actually am quite proud of (I painted, on a fairly large scale, and it was not a disaster!).

My friends are crazy but wonderful. Elise wins the prize of craziest, Natacha perfectionist.

Other stuff that I’ve done recently:

-I lost my bus card (yesterday). There is still hope of finding it, thankfully.

-I’ve been watching the Nouvelle Star, the French version of American Idol. I don’t love the show or the contestants, but I learn the names of French artists and songs to look for when I check out CD’s from the local library.

-During one of the long weekends in May, we visited some interesting places in the Gulf of Morbihan, including Carnac and Locmariaquer, which both have Neolithic monuments. There are some photos in the blog from that.

-During another of the long weekends, we went to Paris, visited Parc Astérix and the Musée Grevin. There are photos of that too. Oh yeah: Astérix is a character in a famous French cartoon; Musée Grevin is a wax museum.

-We had the ‘end of year’ reunion of YFU students in the region. The Canadian girl and I amused ourselves after we’d done all of the activities and finished eating lunch by writing ‘I love you’ in as many different languages as the students present knew on the back of a plate: we got English, French, German, Swedish, Finnish, Chinese, Spanish, and Latin. I couldn’t remember the Hebrew.

‘Til next time (hopefully before I leave France).


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

photo 5photo 5
photo 5

Family friends who were with us at Carnac: Michaël and Valérie, with their daughter Jeanne(tte)
Wet after a water rideWet after a water ride
Wet after a water ride

This is the first Parc Astérix photo
photo 14photo 14
photo 14

The sign, placed outside one of the water rides at Parc Astérix, says: "wet??? No... You must have remembered your poncho..."
Claude and Henri SalvadorClaude and Henri Salvador
Claude and Henri Salvador

This is the first Musée Grevin photo
photo 16photo 16
photo 16

this is Lorie, whom I understand to be the French equivalent of Britney Spears, only with fewer...shall we say...problems?
Erwan and SarkoErwan and Sarko
Erwan and Sarko

You can't tell from this picture that Sarkozy is wearing heels to be the same height as the people he's standing next to.
photo 20photo 20
photo 20

This guy is actually a person, not a wax statue...he scared me!
photo 21photo 21
photo 21

I actually don't remember this guy's name...I just know that he's one of Claude's favorites.
photo 22photo 22
photo 22

Gérard Depardieu
photo 23photo 23
photo 23

This is Obélix, the second most famous character in the Astérix cartoon.
photo 24photo 24
photo 24

Erwan and Napoléon (Bonaparte, not Napoléon III)
photo 25photo 25
photo 25

The obligatory Eiffel Tower photo


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb