Pretty Le Puy!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Auvergne » Le Puy-en-Velay
July 25th 2014
Published: July 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Well, I took my trip to Le Puy today, and though it was a pricey daytrip, I'm glad I went. It was really cool to see in person the old Chapelle St-Michel on the rock, and the large statue (Statue Notre-Dame de France) also perched atop volcanic rock. The Chapelle was actually quite tiny inside, with some neat frescoes on the walls and ceilings. The view from it was also quite awesome, as you could walk on a path all around the church.

After making the descent, I walked over to the Statue. I decided not to climb it, because my knees were bugging me, and I wasn't as keen on it. I think between carrying an extra 40 lbs on my back yesterday, and walking on cobblestones, and climbing hills and stairs, my knees were pooped. Instead I went into the Cloisters of the cathedral and it was very pretty. There were grotesques/carvings (some people call them gargoyles, but i believe they have to spit water from a drain or pipe to be called that) on many of the ledges surrounding the pillars. There was also a room of "treasures" where there were some beautiful tapestries.

I could also have walked 5km out of town to see a tower, but I passed on that too. My legs were tired and I wanted to make sure I didn't miss my bus.

After all the walking I got hungry, so I had crepe, with speculos spread, not Nutella. My niece, Jenn, would have been super excited by that! It was quite tasty, and hit the spot. There was also a student band (orchestra?) playing in the square outside the tourist office, and when they played "When the Saints Go Marching In", it was all I could do not to start doing some solo jazz or Charleston. Since it was cobblestoned, I think I chose well. 😉

Tomorrow, exploring more of Lyon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb