Lost in France!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine
August 31st 2016
Published: September 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Woolly says – I don’t know where the time is going to but I don’t seem to stop working! It’s a tough life counting pistachio’s and chickens and trying to work out what the females are actually doing every day, but in their absence I had located and arranged to view some land for us....our reason for being here. It sounded as though the plot in question ticked a lot of our boxes and one of the things we had said was that even if it wasn’t the right one it would be useful to take a look in person rather than try and make decisions based on photo’s. With that in mind I set the alarm and was ready and waiting patiently at the farm house on our day off, the women were nowhere to be seen so having programmed the sat nav with the help of Adrian, I trotted back to the tent to give them a nudge....or two.



We had been waiting in the car for half an hour and as he puffed up I checked the sat nav with the belief that paws and small buttons don’t always go together! The journey appeared longer than I had worked out on google maps but putting my faith in the Tim Tom our guidance system and the mammoth we headed onto the main road.



Woolly says – The first hour took us through the most glorious countryside and cute windy roads, although Zoe didn’t seem to agree as we weaved left and right round the bends and the green make up wasn’t doing her any favours! As we passed through some larger towns I checked Tim Tom before double checking the road signs and kept my paws crossed that Jo hadn’tclocked that we were rapidly heading onto the motorway...might be a good time for a snack in the back of the car!



The motorway it was and people who know me wel,l know that I hate motorway driving with a passion, too many fast cars and mind numbing lengths of road where your gaze becomes transfixed on tarmac.



Woolly says - the hours passed and with my snack rations reaching a dangerously low level I realised that we still had another hour of driving and we should be meeting the estate agent in a mere fifteen minutes. As Zoe found and activated the emergency phone I kept up the job of keeping Jo breathing as she overtook yet another lorry, I do wish her knuckles didn’t get quite so white when she does that! As our exit approached we shot off the main drag and back onto the country lanes with Jo sparing no heed for petrol consumption I desperately looked around for a sign, any sign would have been nice to be fair!



The estate agent texted asking where we were and luckily a sign flashed past us stating that Civray was a mere 15 kilometres away.



Woolly says – as we skidded into a parking space in the tiny village square I looked around at the small place, not sure Zoe would have much of a social life let alone Jo and I!



It was quite quaint but with only a church and post office it wasn’t the bustling town we had expected..... the emergency phone rang ‘where are you?’ asked the estate agent..... ‘were in Civray by the church’ I replied, ‘I can’t see you’ she responded, I read out the road sign on the small junction between the post office and a tree, ‘Your in the wrong Civray’ she said ‘your about 3 hours away from me!’ I looked at my companions the hysterical laughter started, it could only happen to us!





Woolly says – I told her the sat nav was wrong but would she listen nooooooooo! Nearly four hours of driving and we still had the same distance to go back, my snacks were gone and I had two hyenas falling over with tears pouring down their faces.....HELP, anyone!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb