Day 2 Seignosse


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Seignosse
June 17th 2010
Published: June 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Another endless rainy day here. Shit! I'm stuck in this house in the suburbs. The rain just keeps on falling. The world cup is on, so I guess that is something. And one guy here is a trained chef so he's been cooking up killer lunches. Yesterday I did get in the water after all in the rain. The wind was inshore, which meant that the waves were big and rapidly pounding, one after the other. I couldn't even get out. I was like Tom Hanks in Castaway before he comes up with the sail idea. The waves kept pounding me back. Tough, angry sunsofbitches. There is a technique called "duck diving" by which you can go under the wave with the board, but I was no master at that. The other dudes agreed it was nearly a total wash. But it was good to get in anyway.
On the news I see that the rain here has swollen a river in Southeastern France and caused a village to flood, killing some.
I'm not sure I'm going to last here much longer. I feel the need to get on the road and start walking the camino in Spain.
By the way, I hate to make generalizations or end on a sour note, but these British guys are not the best conversationalists. Is it me being withdrawn or them? Who is who? When will the rain stop?
D

Advertisement



17th June 2010

custard mayonnaise
Brother, These are great. They are allowing Robyn and I to hold on to the trip a bit as we try to assimilate back into our American lives. I hope you get, au minimum, a day of surfing in before you strap on dad's pair of aged new balances and decend on the walk of all walks. Regarding the Brits, perhaps their knickers are in a twist because they "suffered" a tie in their first World Cup game against you, the American. It's 9am here and I am probably watching the same thing as you: figures in blue (arg) and red (kor) run around a big green field chasing a ball. Life is weird!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb