Pamplona to Saint-jean Pied


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port
August 30th 2017
Published: August 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Aloha HostelAloha HostelAloha Hostel

The hard to find hostel in Pamplona.

Well, another night still adjusting to the time difference and the anticipation. I finally fell asleep at 3am after walking around the area for a while. Woke up at 8am feeling refreshed and ready to go. After a quick breakfast of coffee and a couple slices of bread and a slight reorganization of my gear, I walked the few blocks to the bus station and bought a ticket to Saint-jean Pied de Port at noon.

After chilling for a while at the hostel, I packed up and headed to the bus station, two blocks away. Our bus had about 20 people on it, all pilgrims apparently. We drove through the city for quite a ways, then pretty much countryside after that, with a small or tiny town now and then. The road was quite steep with a lot of hairpin turns. About 2 hours later we entered Saint-jean Pied de Port and the adventure began again, finding the hostel. I finally got oriented, found the hostel, and saw the sign saying they don't open until 4pm. It about 2pm. Fortunately the door was open and the sign said I could leave my backpack inside, so I did, keeping my
Cafeteria jamaicaCafeteria jamaicaCafeteria jamaica

The cafeteria where I ate dinner.
money and documents with me.

For the next 2 hours I wandered around the quaint little town and had a late but filling lunch of chicken pasta at a sidewalk cafe for 8 1/2 Euros. It was pretty good with homemade pasta and plenty of chicken and mushrooms. After lunch it was about 4pm so I headed back to the hostel. I ended up being 3rd or 4th to check in, so I got a lower bunk next to an outlet, but on the 3rd floor. Oh well, I need the exercise lol. After stowing my gear, I had a couple cups of coffee and headed out to look for my shell (all pilgrims carry one) and buy a couple bottles of water and a banana for tomorrow.

Since it was late, but not late enough for dinner, I strolled up to the fortress and took a great photo or two of the town, then walked around checking out what was available for dinner and for how much. I quickly realized that I couldn't get anything filling for less 12 euros, so after returning to the hostel and seeing a young couple eating cans of ravioli (one of
Estascion de Autobuses Estascion de Autobuses Estascion de Autobuses

The bus station in Pamplona where I caught my bus to Saint-jean Pied de Port.
my favorites) and finding out they bought them at the little supermarket, I had to check it out. I ended up buying a can of ravioli, a can of pears, and a small potato salad. That should give me enough carbohydrates, and it all came to 5 euros.

Well, I guess I'll go ahead and post this along with some photos. Tomorrow, bright and early, I start walking my Way (The Camino de Santiago).



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Saint-jean Pied de Port Saint-jean Pied de Port
Saint-jean Pied de Port

One of the classic shots in Saint-jean Pied de Port.
Gite Le Chemin vers l'Etoile Gite Le Chemin vers l'Etoile
Gite Le Chemin vers l'Etoile

My hostel in Saint-jean Pied de Port, again not so easy to find.
The Camino SignThe Camino Sign
The Camino Sign

The sign I am supposed to look for tomorrow when I start my Camino.
The Pilgrims Office The Pilgrims Office
The Pilgrims Office

The official place to get your Camino passport.
Saint-jean Pied de Port viewSaint-jean Pied de Port view
Saint-jean Pied de Port view

A beautiful view of town from the citadel.


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb