Je suis tombée amoureuse!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Pau
June 8th 2010
Published: June 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I’ve discovered that bad days happen, even in France! Somewhere between taking a week to find out you have to go to la poste to exchange money NOT THE BANQUE (and waiting an hour at each), being called dramatic and ugly (among other not-nice things), failing my expose (and having to do another), catching the plague (and everyone thinking I am hungover), and all the while not understanding most of what is going on around me (my brain no longer works in French OR in English), I have learned a few important things. The only thing you need to know how to say to survive in France is “ça va” It pretty much covers everything. The cure to a terrible day is incredibly simple; a baguette, cheese, and éclairs! Solves all ailments. And for some reason, the French seem to think that an “American accent” is cute! There is one thing that I don’t understand at all; HOW are the French so skinny!!! It is ridiculous. All people do here is eat carbs and dairy and drink wine. Fat-free and sugar-free does not exist! No one works out, yet everyone, not an exaggeration, everyone here is skinny! I just don’t understand! I have also noticed that NO ONE here wears their hair up, never. Not even when I went to an aerobics class with my French mom. That seemed a little strange to me. Anyway, in spite of my jealousy and not-so-good-luck lately, I still adore France. My family is amazing (as is the food and wine!), the city is gorgeous (the language and people are gorgeous too!), the dancing is super fun, everyone I’ve met (sauf Frank, who is in fact quite mean) is so nice, the weather is agreeable, and I just love it here! Next time I know to bring linen pants (that’s all people wear here, never skirts or shorts) and prepare to eat very late at night (we don’t even start dinner until around 9!) Overall, life couldn’t be too much better.
PS Mama I watched The Closer in French!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb