Welcome to The Dordogne Valley


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Dordogne
July 15th 2009
Published: July 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The drive out of the Loire took us through some serious agricultural land. Miles and miles of crops and villages the landscape had a golden glow due to the wheat and sunflowers. The last 50 kilometres of the drive was our favourite as the road headed into the hills and passed through hill top fortifications and walled villages. Once again, surprisingly quiet roads that were a pleasure to drive.

We have decided to stay inland and visit the Dordogne Valley instead of heading back out to the coast. Yes, of course, the Dordogne Valley is listed in our book ‘1001 Natural Wonders you Must See Before You Die’ Terrible title but some great places to see.

Now I know I said I have already found my favourite part of rural France, well in the last few days I think I have changed my mind!

The Dordogne was an absolute pleasure. A lovely valley with high limestone cliffs leading down to a winding river. Amazing old villages line the riverbanks.

We decided to avoid the main town of Salat as it looked really busy and headed instead to a village set high up on a cliff overlooking the river. On our way to the village we came across the great little campsite on the rivers edge and decided to set up for the next few days.

In the evening we walked a few kilometers up the hill to the old walled village of Domme. Wow, did I say that I had already found my favourite French village? I really shouldn’t make those claims after a weeks travel! Domme is absolutely lovely, quiet and peaceful with amazing views down to the valley. Oh yeah, the ice cream was pretty good too!

The next morning we hired a canoe and spent three hours paddling down the river. We were the first ones on the river and the peace of floating downstream with the current was a great way to relax and see the valley.

The worst part about The Dordogne Valley? Leaving!




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Looking down on The Dordogne Valley Looking down on The Dordogne Valley
Looking down on The Dordogne Valley

Brian is sitting on the riverside to the left of the bridge.


18th July 2009

Lucky you!!
I spent all my childhood holidays camping in the Loire and the Dordogne and your blogs have bought it all back. Sounds like you are having a fab time and I am full of envy. Can't wait till thses bloody kids are at Uni and we can do the same thing. Keep up with the info. What with your and Imogen's blogs I am happy living vicariously!LOL
23rd July 2009

Wow!
Hey guys! Your trip looks so amazing so far! Loving all these french campsites. Hope you keeping notes for us! Luv Bridge and Cyn

Tot: 0.43s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 35; qc: 145; dbt: 0.1536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb