Summer in the South of France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bergerac
August 25th 2011
Published: January 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

London - Bergerac


FoncaussadeFoncaussadeFoncaussade

Our bright green hire car which would take us over 1000km to Nice.
To really experience France and visit as many places as possible in a short amount of time, Hannah and I organised a road trip across South-West France. And since Hannah and I had already been to many parts of the road trip we made sure to include a few places we’d never been. However before we hit the road we were meeting Hannah’s parents at their house in Bergerac for a few relaxing days in the beautiful French countryside. Our Ryanair flight from Stansted arrived into Bergerac midafternoon, we were met by lovely warm weather and Hannah’s dad waiting to pick us up from the airport. For my parents it was their first real experience of France, having only visited briefly while travelling through to Bruges a few weeks ago. We met Hannah’s mum at the house in Foncaussade, just outside Bergerac and settled in for a few relatively quiet days before we hit the French motorways. While in Bergerac we showed my parents around to some of the local wineries and restaurants while they had a taste for the French way of life.

Unfortunately I began to have quite a bad allergic reaction to something and it became really
BergeracBergeracBergerac

Endless rows of vineyards right outside the house.
difficult for me to breathe. Strange since the number of times I’ve been to Hannah’s parents place and never really had any hay fever trouble before, but this was much later in the season. So I had to skip seeing a few things because it was just so difficult to breathe and I could let this go on for the next 2 weeks so Hannah took me to see the local doctor. After prescribing a load of drugs we headed to the chemist and bought over €120 worth of drugs. One of them was a ventilator which I used as soon as we got home, and instantly after a single puff, I felt completely normal again, I was shocked how quickly it worked.

On our final day in Bergerac I drove my parents into the center of Bergerac. I parked the car by the Dordogne River and we began exploring the old streets of the city. We were wandering around for a few hours not looking for anything in particular, I’d only actually been into the city a couple of times and never really had a proper look around. After a while we headed back to the car and
BergeracBergeracBergerac

Statue in front of the Town Hall in Bergerac city center.
drove back to Foncaussade and for the rest of the afternoon relaxed by the pool. We only left to pick up our bright green Fiat Picasso which would take us all as far as Nice. That evening we decided to have dinner outside by the pool and afterwards packed our bags ready to hit the road the next morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 16; qc: 79; dbt: 0.1177s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb