Day 1: Train to Strasbourg


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
February 25th 2008
Published: February 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up early and took a train to Strasbourg, France. It was about a 6 hour train. From Marseille to Lyon, then Lyon to Strasbourg. Strasbourg is a touristy city but nice none the less. I was able to visit the Strasbourg Cathedral which is huge. Mark (who lived with us in Simi for a year as a German exchange student) and his buddy came to pick me up in Strasbourg and take me to Freiburg. In Freibug, I spent the weekend with Mark and his parents. I was able to speak with his dad in French which was great. They took me on a scenic drive of Freiburg and a hike to the top of a local mountain with a great view. Mark also took me brewery hopping and beer tasting. Mark and his girlfriend took me to a natural spa/therapy place which is popular for Germans. There were lots of heated pools and it reminded me of the Roman times. It was a great weekend.

I also ended my trip in Strasbourg about 8 days later. I spent the night in a hotel but I had caught a cold for the last few days so I wandered the city by day, looking at churches, botanical gardens, etc and by night I watched Rugby on tv. Here are the picures from my travels in Strasbourg.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb