Francais or Deutsch?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
July 21st 2007
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Mannheim-Strasbourg


In front of the cathedralIn front of the cathedralIn front of the cathedral

Michael, Mandi, and Maria
Today we took a day trip to Strasbourg, which is right on the French/German border. I was very excited because I got to use my French phrasebook for the first time 😊

I couldn't tell you much about the car trip because first of all, I hadn't been to bed yet. Harry Potter was released at midnight and I'm one of those geeky individuals that waited in line at the bookstore (or in my case, what passes for a bookstore at the PX) until they were allowed to sell the book at midnight. I had been up all night reading it and finished the last of it in the car on the way to France. It was VERY good, by the way. If you haven't read the books yet you really should (I'm sure Matt is rolling his eyes when he reads this part!).

Anyways, it's only a couple of hours to Strasbourg and we went with some friends of ours, Mike and Maria. Basically we went for lunch and for shopping...plus, I thought it was pretty cool to say that we went to France for lunch lol. What was really cool is that even though it's France, it's so close to the German border that you could order your lunch in either French or German and they'll understand you either way. I find that absolutely fascinating. I mean, in the States if you live in Texas or Southern California you might speak a little bit of Spanish, but to know languages the way Europeans do blows my mind...and makes me feel very dumb for not knowing at least one other one.

Anyways, Strasbourg is great. Maria and I both managed to find a pair of shoes that we like and we had a great lunch. After we'd walked around the streets for a bit we started heading back to Germany. Along the way we stopped at the Chocolate Museum which, if you ever get a chance to go, save your Euros and skip it. It was really dull and the free chocolate at the end didn't even help to make up for the time and money we spent there. But, now we can pass the news on to others so they don't make the same mistake 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

FriendsFriends
Friends

Maria, Michael, Mandi, and Matt


Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb