Springtime in Strasbourg


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
April 7th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Quartier des TonneliersQuartier des TonneliersQuartier des Tonneliers

The flowers cover all the signs on my street
Strasbourg has changed so much since I arrived. It’s incredible to think that I arrived here in the cold, bare winter, and now, just over three months later, it’s spring. The whole place is green, there are flowers everywhere - it’s just so beautiful.

To be honest, I really didn’t want the warm weather to arrive. I know that sounds strange because everyone knows how much I hate the cold, but I just thought that this gorgeous city would never suit the warm weather. I loved it bare, and I especially loved it covered in snow, but this greenery with flowers blossoming everywhere has made it more beautiful than I could have ever imagined.

Just the view from my room is different. Comparing the view from my room now to the one in my first blog it’s like I’m in a different place altogether. The photos of the signs that were hanging in the street with snow falling all around are now covered in purple flowers. Everywhere is so green, which is such a weird concept coming from Adelaide where everything gets browner as it starts to get warmer.

My new favourite place is the Orangerie Park on the edge of the city. It’s amazing, it’s full of colour and trees and lakes and lately we’ve gone there a few times for picnics or even to study. Yes, don’t worry your eyes are fine, they’re not playing tricks on you. I did say I’d been studying. Not much though, no need to worry about me, I’m fine. It’s just nice to get out the house and enjoy the sunshine and sometimes a really good excuse to do so is to bring the books along. Who woulda thought?

Not only has the weather been warm, it’s been hot. The freakishly warm winter has rolled over into a freakishly warm spring and I’m walking around in thongs and singlets. I’m leaving my windows open at night and there are no such things as fly screens in France. Well, not in any of the places I’ve seen anyway. And don’t think it’s because they don’t have flies, oh no, they have big fat flies that just wander into my room at night - it’s worse than Australia. The other day I even saw a pigeon peeking into my window wondering if he could come in for a visit.

The
From my windowFrom my windowFrom my window

The new, very different, view from my window
best part about the warmer weather is that the city has come alive like never before. All of a sudden the restaurants have chairs and tables outside; there are people everywhere and buskers all over the city. As I sit in my room writing this I can hear the French piano accordions playing, children running around yelling and people talking and laughing from all the cafes just downstairs. It’s made me fall in love with Strasbourg all over again and it’s making it even harder to imagine that I won’t be here next year. That I won’t get to experience the end of winter and the start of summer this time next year. Because next time the seasons change it will only be getting colder, which will mean that my time here is coming to an end. I know it’s still another nine months away but it’s not something I’m ready to think about right now.





Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

SpringtimeSpringtime
Springtime

The park out the front of my house in full bloom
Daffodils Daffodils
Daffodils

The daffodils were everywhere for a few weeks but have now mostly disappeared - Lizette's even been known to jump fences some nights with a pair of scissors to steal the ones by the riverbank!
LyceeLycee
Lycee

This is actually a high school by the river - hard to believe a high school could be so pretty
Orangerie ParkOrangerie Park
Orangerie Park

One of the most beautiful parks in the world
PicnicPicnic
Picnic

Martha, one of Laura's friends who's living in Poitier this year came to stay and she joined us for a picnic at Orangerie Park.
PicnicPicnic
Picnic

This isn't an example of us studying in the park. But it happened. Really!
The viewThe view
The view

A beautiful view of Strasbourg at sunset from a tower in Petite France, on the horizon is the cathedral that I live right next to.
Au BrasseurAu Brasseur
Au Brasseur

This place serves the best tarte flambées (kind of pancake pizzas), we go there a lot and have now made it tradition to celebrate there after turning in a UTS assignment
La JavaLa Java
La Java

The second half of our new tradition is to go to La Java after Au Brasseur after the completion of a UTS assignment. Gotta love tradition!


27th April 2007

Wow
I think it would have been great for us to come in springtime. Wow what beautiful scenery. People are really aware of the 4 seasons in Europe whereas we really only have two in Australia. Enjoy!
28th April 2007

Beautiful
Wow! It's so beautiful. I can't wait to visit. Not long now :) Miss you.

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 86; dbt: 0.0923s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb