Another important parenting lesson


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Guebwiller
March 12th 2012
Published: March 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Looking after children in church is NOT easy. How did I learn this other important lesson of parenting? On Sunday I'd been left to look after the children, Gabriel in particular as Laetitia was in the worship band and Cedric was working. We got to church an hour before it began for band rehearsal - I had to do my best to amuse Raphael and Gabriel in the creche with play-do, cars and picture books. I managed it for a whole hour without either of them demanding maman - I did however, have to get out nearly every single toy I could find in order to keep Gabriel busy - I was quite proud of myself and when he did suddenly decide that he no longer wanted to rest in the creche, I managed to bribe him with some marshmellows which I'd brought along, exactly for that purpose. A handy parenting tip: ALWAYS come well-prepared, looking after children in a public place is a bit like going into battle - it's important to be well-equipped and well-armed.

I was reluctant to let my babysitting duties stop me from worshipping God so during the worship music I tried to stay in the main room of the church but next to the door where I could keep an eye on the children who were playing just on the other side and make a quick exit if needed.

Although Laetitia told me it was OK if Gabriel or Raphael wanted to go and see her during the singing, I did my best to stop Gabriel (Raphael had found his next favourite person after his mum: Angela Leigh - one of the American missionaries at church). Sometimes he was happy to let me carry him and jiggle him around on my hip as I swayed and sung to the music - I found this quite an enriching way to worship God - just having a baby like Gabriel seated on my hip makes me feel all yummy inside - perhaps it's my maternal instinct finally pushing its way out.

When he didn't want me to carry him I tried to distract him with some toy cars - Gabriel and toy cars are a match made in heaven. And when that failed I finally admitted defeat and let him run across the room to his mum, hoping he wouldn't get knocked out by any of the worship flags being waved about.

There was one moment after he'd been with his mum when he kind of waddled around on his little legs a bit aimlessly as if he'd lost his sense of direction and wasn't quite sure where to go. And then he turned in my direction and a big smile lit across his chubby face but I wasn't sure if he was smiling at me or someone behind me (I've made this mistake before with people). So I resisted holding out my arms to him and returning his big smile but when he did finally run up to me and I was sure it was me he wanted, I wrapped him up in my arms and felt so much love and affection bursting up within me.

Looking after children can be tiring and stressful but its rewards often outweigh all that (that's parenting lesson number two - look out for my book in a few years time).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb