On the Road Again


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland
September 2nd 2012
Published: September 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Me: Excuse me miss, can you pls help to turn on the air con? It feel a bit stuffy here.

Stewardess: Uhm, sorry – this plane can only turn on the air con once it already started to move backwards… So, hang in there. The pilot should turn on the air con soon…

Me: ???

I was puzzled, and then I giggled a bit. I have never heard of a plane that “need to go backward first” before the air con can be turned on. And as cherry on the top – guess what – the in flight system was also down. So it’s just you and the blank screen for the next 13 hours or so. But I guess, that’s the trade off of trying to save some bucks. Open Jaw Finn Air ticket was at least 1000 SGD cheaper than the almighty Singapore Airlines.

But then again, looking at the big picture – I really don’t have anything valid to complain. My Schengen visa finally got approved after 4.5 years of waiting since they last rejected me. And I’m finally on my way to realize my dream vacation. Hey, as long as we all can get there safely – that’s all that matters. Although of course – having the air con and in flight system would be nice.

I still remember end of last year, I was sitting on a bus in New Zealand. I was trying to fill up the long hours by reading my e-books collection. I was reading about Prague and sigh. I wonder when I can go there… And never in a million years, I would’ve thought that now – less than a year later; I’m on my way to the dream land. I guess that’s life, full of surprises.

So where am I going this time? Owh, it’s a mouthful to explain. Basically I’m going a little bit off the beaten track. Not necessarily your usual Europe first-timers. I decided to follow my heart and my gut. And the chosen countries are….

Norway

Sweden

Czech Republic

Hungary

Austria



And I’m covering all of those in… just 2 weeks!!! Crazy? Uhm… I would prefer the term “very dynamic” itinerary ha ha ha…. I can do it!!! You’ll see. And let the adventure begins. As the sunset rise over Kazakhstan, I closed my eyes and just hope my light 7.8 kg checked-in backpack make it through the tight connection in Helsinki. It would be itchy to wear the same clothes for 2 weeks.

Advertisement



20th September 2012

4.5 years! Wow~ Can't wait to read about your long-awaited travels. :)

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb