Helsinki


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland
August 30th 2019
Published: August 30th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today was a bit of a laidback day compared to my usual pace of sightseeing. I started the day with a little shopping. I have been wanting to buy a new shirt and found two that I think will work. I’m not a big fan of clothes shopping, but I rather enjoyed this experience. For one thing, there were no crowds of tourists jostling for position in line! After lunch I visited the Design Museum (only a moderate number of tourists there). Apparently Finland is noted for its designers and there is a room in the museum called Utopia Now with some of their greatest hits: Nokia phones, Fiskar scissors, the game Angry Birds. Later in the day I caught the 15-minute ferry to the island of Suomenlinna which was a fortress for a couple of centuries, but in recent years has been given over to parkland. It is a pleasant place to stroll and to admire the view past the guns over the Gulf of Finland.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb