Veni, Vidi, Vici


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Uusimaa » Helsinki
May 23rd 2007
Published: May 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Canada vs. Finland hockey gameCanada vs. Finland hockey gameCanada vs. Finland hockey game

The city gathered in Senaatintori square to watch the match on the big screen left over from Eurovision the night before.

Veni, Vidi, Vici

 Europe » Finland » Helsinki By jessie_elicia
May 23rd 2007
Jessie Smith
Last night in Finland! It went by so fast, I feel like I just got here yesterday but really I've been here almost 5 months now. My new plan is to take the train tomorrow morning to Turku for a press conference at 1 and gallery opening at 6. After that I'll hop on the ferry headed for Stockholm and arrive the next morning ready to be a tourist again. I have a week to travel through Sweden and Norway before flying from Oslo to Dublin. I start my new job on the 5th of May! Yikes, so much going on in the next two weeks.

Things I'll miss most about Finland:
-wilderness intertwined with urbanism
-salmiakki everything, kahvipulla and berry soup
-free wood in the workshop
-amazing public transportation
-saunas in (almost) every house/apartment building

Well, I've got to finish packing but I promise to write from Ireland!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Canada vs. Finland hockey gameCanada vs. Finland hockey game
Canada vs. Finland hockey game

The small group of Canadians at a rare moment the flag was raised... it would come out for 10 seconds then disappear.
Puustudio installation.Puustudio installation.
Puustudio installation.

Puustudio is the equivalent of the Wood Program but for Finnish students. This is their pavilion for the semester.
Puustudio installation.Puustudio installation.
Puustudio installation.

Made of Kerto (manufactured wood product), hardware, and a copper base.
My neighbourhoodMy neighbourhood
My neighbourhood

One last look...
My neighbourhoodMy neighbourhood
My neighbourhood

Ok, one last look... now.
SuomiSuomi
Suomi

Goodbye Finland!


26th May 2007

spectaculor
Jess, what a fascinating project. With all that blood sweat (any tears) the project came to fruition. Richard had been updating us on the steps you took during the project and glad to see the completion. Would have been amazing to see it in person. Thanks for the post card we got it yesterday. Enjoy the rest of the week before work begins. Got to see that apartment yet that Richard has arranged. Cheers and take care. v

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0906s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb