Lithuania/Finland


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » South Karelia
July 3rd 2010
Published: July 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lithuania in early June; Finland in late June. Enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

VilniusVilnius
Vilnius

A great city to visit.
Frank Zappa monumentFrank Zappa monument
Frank Zappa monument

It's the only one in the world. (and we almost walked right by it...)
Boszkowow, PolandBoszkowow, Poland
Boszkowow, Poland

Communist resort. We stayed in the PKP train cabin. (sick)
HelsinkiHelsinki
Helsinki

Pic taken about 10pm


3rd July 2010
Bless this Finnish taxi driver

Kiitos to my friend
After arriving at my camp and finding it deserted, this sweet man called all of my Russian and Finnish contacts, speaking their respective languages on my behalf to find out what was going on. After learning I would be on my own at the camp for 24+, the tax driver insisted on driving me around town for free to collect supplies. He said repeatedly: "I am a peacekeeper. I have kept the peace in Lebanon, Serbia, Afghanistan. I must protect. I cannot leave foreign woman here without food and water. My job is peacekeeper."
5th July 2010

love him
love the peacekeeper who was kind enough to take care of our Chelsea the world needs many more of his kind - and your kind!

Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 16; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb