Back and staying back!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Päijänne Tavastia » Hämeenlinna
October 28th 2014
Published: October 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So for obvious reasons i have written my blog in almost a month, it’s in all honesty been one of the worst months ever. When i planned to come to Finland it was Nan that i sat down and talk about it too.. not because my parents didn’t want to listen or anything else but it was nerve wracking enough for them without me telling them the ifs the buts, the good points and the bad. Without Nan constantly telling me about the time her and my grandfather moved to Yugoslavia for six months and telling me how much she enjoyed living in a different culture and understanding that it would be hard not knowing the language and having to be fully independent, i may well not have taken the leap.

Not only was she there for her words of encouragement and to tell me how proud she was, she was also there as a back up that if basically, shit hit the fan regarding needing anything while out there… she was there at the end of the phone. For example when we were cleaning the Flat out i found a letter that she was going to send out to me along with a care package, filled with make up and sweets! Or the one that i had received before i moved, filled to the brim with the “necessities,” like, vaseline-three different types, so many paracetamol- i can supply the whole of the Finnish army and still have some left for myself..hand cream, ear buds, nail varnish remover, my favourite make up wipes… all things that if I’m honest didn’t cross my mind to pack. Its not just Nan i’m going to miss but its all these little things about her. How every tuesday and thursday if i was home from uni i’d go up and spend a few hours, she’d stuff me with nice marks and sparks food, tea-cakes and coffee and we’d share, “all the news from all the world” as she used to say.



I thought it would be so easy coming back to Finland because i love it here and i have amazing friends here that i couldn't wait to see, but while Dad and I left the house the early hours of sunday morning, i couldn’t stop crying because its not going to be the same, i won’t have her aswell as mam and Dad at the end of the phone to tell about me stealing boats or how handy her packages are and I know everyone says that you should really expect your Grandparents to pass away but my nan was so much more than just my dopey old Nan because she taught me things and she made me proud to be hers and made me want to make her proud !

Nan always made me promise three things, Never give up, see everything till the end and over the last month, like a stuck record… “Hann promise to go BACK TO FINLAND…”



So i am and i’ll finish it for her- even though i never want to see Glamorgan university ever again after how amazing Finland is, i will go back in september after my industry year!

And even though she won’t be there on the day i graduate i know that she would have been so proud and thats what makes it worth while, So on the down days i’ll think of you Nan nagging me silly and on the good days i’ll remember you saying, well done my girl with tears in your voice down the phone!



NOW…. Its back to Hameenilinna for my last 9 weeks! To squeeze as much as i can see and make up for all the drinking i’ve missed this past month!!

SHOW ME THE EXPENSIVE VODKA!!





Hann :D xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb