Mom's Visit!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Ostrobothnia » Vaasa
April 8th 2008
Published: May 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

She Likes Shoes!She Likes Shoes!She Likes Shoes!

Here's Mom at the shoe museum.
I've finally gotten around to writing this entry. Now that I'm sick and all I have plenty of time.

So, on Tuesday, April 8, I made the 5 hour train journey to Helsinki. I got there and met Mom at the train station. It took me awhile to find her (being by the "big brown doors" is not very descriptive when there are about 12 sets of big brown doors). She was very happy to see me and of course I was very happy to see her too. We lugged all of her luggage, mostly crap for me, to the Omena Hotelli a few blocks away. The weather wasn't very nice, rainy and fairly cold. She unpacked one of her suitcases and showed me all of the stuff that she brought me including, drum roll please..........THIN MINTS!! Yay!! I was very excited. We weren't really sure what to do with our evening in Helsinki and Mom was pretty tired, so we decided to go to the movies. We saw Sweeney Todd. It was really good.

On Wednesday we did a bit of sightseeing around Helsinki. I wasn't exactly a very good guide since I've only been there a few
Giant BicycleGiant BicycleGiant Bicycle

Me riding the giant bicycle at the bicycle museum.
times myself. In the afternoon we took the train to Tampere where we would be spending the night. There really wasn't too much we could do in Tampere since it was already evening when we got there. So, we went out to eat at an Italian restaurant, and then we went back to the hotel.

On Thursday we spent the first part of the day in Tampere. We visited the Shoe Museum and the Bicycle Museum. In the afternoon we took the train back to Vaasa. We met my host family, and then we went to my little host brothers' soccer game. After the game we went back home, and I took Mom to her first Finnish sauna. I think maybe she found it a little too hot, but I think she still liked it.

On Friday we had lunch with my host parents and then visited my school. After that we saw a bit of the city, and then we went and visited my first host family. Ros-Mari of course made TONS of food, and Mom even got to taste the traditional Easter dessert mämmi. After that we went back to my current host family's house, and I studied for my Swedish test while Mom hung out with my host parents.

On Saturday I took the Finnish language test. It wasn't too hard. I actually think that I did pretty well. After the test Mom, my host parents, and I all went to lunch on this island called Björkö. We ate food that had all been killed/picked from the nearby surroundings. Then we went on a tiny hike through the area. There was snow on the ground by the way, in April. Then we went back to the house and hung out for the rest of the night.

On Sunday we woke up and my host parents had made a huge, delicious breakfast. Then Mom and I got on the train and made the very long journey to Helsinki. When we got there we met Minna and Roope in the train station. Simo would have come too, but he was sick. So, we went out to dinner with them, and then they gave us a ride to the hotel. At the hotel we watched the movie Atonement and then went to bed because Mom was getting up early in the morning.

On Monday morning Mom left before I woke up. I hope she had a really good time here in Finland because I had a really good time with her!





Advertisement



13th May 2008

Yay for Mom!
Yes, I had a fantastic time in Finland and was VERY HAPPY to see my favorite teenage daughter. You were an excellent guide and I was impressed with your Finnish and Swedish language skills.
13th May 2008

She left you??
She left without saying goodbye? That's terrible!! I'm going to see her tonight and yell at her for you...altough you don't sound bothered. Maybe she woke you up but you just don't remember? Glad you had a good time and you finally wrote about your mom. She was getting pissed that she hasn't been mentioned yet. Thanks for that!
14th May 2008

Thin Mints!
How many boxes of thin mints did mom bring you? I'm glad you finally posted the blog about her trip!! I hope you are having a great time and I love you! Love, Mal
16th May 2008

good job!
I'm glad you both had a great time. We're going to see her graduate on Saturday. I'm proud of you both!!! Love You and hurry home.
25th May 2008

Björkö huh? I wonder... was Björk there? Ha!
29th May 2008

hooray!
I'm glad you got some thin mints and had a great time with your mom. I'm also glad you got your package, because I had forgotten to write down your address, so I had to call my sister and she told it to me over the phone. I was expecting to get back home from Florida and see it sitting on my front porch because I spelled something wrong. :)

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0889s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb