Winter Wonderland


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Lapland
March 20th 2007
Published: March 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As promised, here is more about my trip to Lapland. The next day we woke up early, vacations are never meant for sleeping in - you end up missing too much! After breakfast we headed out to a winter park - translated as snow nose land from Finnish. They had a snow labyrinth, reindeer rides, snowmobiles to ride on, and dog rides too. They also had different hills to go sledding on. However, before we got there we were walking and saw a reindeer just wondering down the road! It was a beautiful white one too. One of the guys we were with decided to run after him to get a picture…And in the process ended up falling into the snow! But in the end, he got a good picture. So it was worth it But back to the snow nose land. We were able to do everything! A great thing was that they considered us a family, so we got a good discount! You could tell that the park was geared towards families with children, but it was still fun. We were able to experience all the laplandish events all in one day for a good price too! The first adventure that we set out doing was the snow labyrinth. Some how, every turn that I made was the right one, so I got out without running into any dead ends. The cool thing was that it was made out of snow - not ice as I thought it was from the distance. We then went on the reindeer rides. At first, there was just one sleigh pulled by one reindeer - having only one rider as well. But later on, the driver added a second sleigh and two people were able to ride that one. So total there could be 3 riders on 2 sleighs - not including the driver. The ride was short, but since we were there all day we were able to ride as much as we wanted to. I would say the highlight was having the reindeer right besides me as I rode (I was in the first sleigh). The next exciting thing was driving the snowmobile. We were the only ones here at this point, so we could drive as much as we wanted to. There was only one snowmobile - so we had to take turns, but the wait was not too
runaway Peterrunaway Peterrunaway Peter

Here is Peter running after the white Reindeer.
long. Things went well, for the most part. I guess I should say that things went well until someone ran the snowmobile into the ditch and broke it. Oops! Names will not be named to protect the innocent (or not so innocent) but I will tell you that he spoke polish. Luckily, it was not broken too badly so we did not have to pay anything for it. We also did the dog sleds. I would have to say that the highlight for this was the snowball fight while we were waiting our turn. Notice how I was the one surrounded by it, but not in it! I do not know how that happened but I did enjoy watching them making themselves even colder.
After spending all day out in the cold, we went inside and warmed up a bit before we made the hike back to our cottage. It was a fun day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Dasher and MeDasher and Me
Dasher and Me

I really got to know Santa's reindeer this trip! I ate one and rode another.
The Girls The Girls
The Girls

Oh - and don't we look beautiful!
The BattleThe Battle
The Battle

Notice how I was innocent in this matter!
WarmthWarmth
Warmth

We are inside getting warm before we walked back to the cottage. They had a nice fire going and everything!


21st March 2007

Hello!
Hi Emily! I've loved reading about your adventures and looking at the pictures. What FUN! We miss you. Stay warm and safe in your travels. God Bless! Lisa
21st March 2007

you lucky duck...or should I say reindeer?
Emmy, I like looking at your exciting life through your eyes! You are having way too much fun (and I'm glad that you didn't eat the reindeer you were riding, tee hee). I'm praying for you much! We miss you and look forward to millions of stories. Say hi to all awesome friends over yonder.
21st March 2007

Brr...
Wow! It sounds like you are having such an awesome time over there! I love traveling and experiencing new things - so I'm green over your blogs and pics! Okay.. not really, I just think it is really cool and I would totally love to experience some of these things! I LOVE your travel blogs! Thank you much for adding me to them! Keep up the good work and keep in touch :) God bless! -Ruthie-

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb