Smyril-line mv Narroenu


Advertisement
Faroe Islands' flag
Europe » Faroe Islands » Torshavn
July 23rd 2012
Published: July 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Left saturday afternoon with the Narroenu owned by the Smyril line. The ship have beem built in Luebeck. Is that the same Luebeck as the Buddenbrooks? The length is overall 165 meter, speed 21 Nmiles and can carry 1482 passengers and 600 cars and 130 trailers. The distance to Torshaven is 570 N mile and took about 30 hours.'

In the train from Copenhagen I saw a man in my wagon with quite some luggage. Some girls entered at the next stop. One of them with a tray beer. The man started to tell them he was thirsty. He got a tin at 8.30 in the morning. When empty the girl asked another one? Yes my last. After 2 more last cans the girls got of and he started to sleep.Happily smiling dreaming of beer and girls..

On the ferry quite some young people but also couples with 3 or 4 children and elder. The couples with children could keep them under control. What s obvious that people who are using these ferries love reading. the old books printed on paper, boardgames and many women knitting. Are that only scandinavians?And men with cotton handkerchiefs were represented well.

On sunday around 10 o clock the sea became rough with quite some high waves. Hardly to walk around due to the unexpected movements. Was reading in one of the cafe s and went to bed for reading at three o clock for moving around was no fun.Had to leave the cabin 19.30 and had my pre booked buffet diner. They had a lot of left overs for due to the weather the restaurant had at least 75% less clients than the evening before.

The time changed one hour and still its not dark at 22.45. Walked my way to Thorshavn hotel. Asked a guy to check if I was still on the right track if this was the way to the Thorshavn hotel.He told me there was no hotel of that name and he had been here before, I asked when and found out early eighties. That gave hope and round the corner I found the hotel.

Hotel is o.k. but its cold and I turned on the heater for I was freezing after been blown by wind force 8 from the ferry to the hotel.Had a beer or two with a Swiss couple I met at the ferry.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1843s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb