Last day in Scandinavia - Hummingham Denmark


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland » Lolland
July 22nd 2010
Published: July 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Slightly better sleep but only because I resorted to earplugs to shut out the traffic noise.
Incredibly when we got back to Tandy last night someone had parked so close that we couldn’t open our main window (and it was stiflingly hot) as it would have meant they couldn’t close their door.
We headed out of Copenhagen on the motorway but then directed Clarissa Tomtom not to use motorways and she took us along some more minor, ‘straight as the crow flies’ roads right to the south of Julland to a little place called Hummingham. There is a campsite here and probably a beach a mile or so away but we stayed on site so didn’t find out what else was there. Had a swim in the rather nice pool but, as luck would have it, the roasting hot weather changed to ‘cooler’ just as we arrived here.
Not a problem, just nice to swim.
Had problem with my wifi which I needed so I could Skype Jenny in Melbourne. Paid for several hours with One-stop.dk but accidentally closed my browser window and was then unable to sign-off and my (mega expensive) time was ticking away. Campsite son tried to help but to be honest I am just as proficient so we got nowhere. Eventually I went for a swim hoping it would time me out if inactive for long enough and thank goodness it did. This is my second experience with One-stop and will avoid them in future. For anyone out there with a similar problem - always copy the URL of the sign on screen and save it somewhere first time you sign on. If then like me you accidentally close Internet explorer without logging off you can get back in to the UIRL you saved and sign off properly. (I used to be a computer support analyst in my previous life and hate unresolved problems so had to work out how to fix this one !).
Change of plan today. Decided to give Hamburg a miss. We have ‘done’ cities now and Bob has a big toe blister from walking Copenhagen streets in heat. Instead we will head for the Netherlands just over the border from Germany where Bob has located a campsite next to a medieval fort or something. Not been to that area so should be interesting. We have 3 more nights before our final one
Narrow - marked as 2.5 metresNarrow - marked as 2.5 metresNarrow - marked as 2.5 metres

We are 2.6 but we made it !
at Calais so have time to stop if we see somewhere we fancy on the way.
Tomorrow we take the ferry to Germany.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Reminds me of that joke poster you see in pubsReminds me of that joke poster you see in pubs
Reminds me of that joke poster you see in pubs

"you don't have to be mad to work here but it helps"


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb