Day 11 - Copenhagen


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
June 30th 2017
Published: July 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Copenhagen at 22:00 on Thursday 29th and we decided to purchase a 'Copenhagen Card' for 48hrs, which cost about £60 but covered all our public transport and entry to various tours and attractions. We the. Hopped on the metro and headed across to 'Sleep in Heaven' our (slightly optimistically named) hostel for the next two nights. We were in a 6 bed mixed dorm without any en-suite facilities, so you could say this was my first real taste of hostel living. It was manageable but not as comfortable as hoped, our bunk bed in particular creaked and squeaked at even the slightest of movements and the dimly light and all black bathroom didn't fill me with any confidence on the cleanliness front!

Dan tells me that the first night I snored, loudly, though thankfully it seemed our other roommates weren't effected too much by it (sorry Dan :-s). I was very conscious of how loud my bed was any time I moved an inch which lead to me waking up quite a lot in the night and being pretty tired the next day. Cue me forgetting both my flip flops and my towel on my shower trip the next morning! I had to risk it on the feet front and dry myself with my PJ's! Not the ideal start to the day. We had a buffet continental breakfast in our hostel after we had packed our bags for the day and then we were off into the city.

We started with a quick tour of the city hall and its tall bell tower which offers some good views over Copenhagen. Sadly it was drizzling all morning so next we decided to make a trip to the Danish Museum which had a number of exhibits to choose from, we went for the prehistoric, 1600-2000's and toys exhibits all of which were focused around Denmark and Danes in one way or other.Both of these activities were free thanks to our Copenhagen cards. Next we paid a visit to a Danish bakery chain called Lagkagehuset which served pastries, pizza breads, sandwiches and salads etc. I went for a pesto pasta salad box and a slice of Parma ham and sun dried tomato pizza bread, which was delicious. Unfortunately the weather worsened and (despite buying an umbrella from Tiger) we didn't fancy getting soaked through to the skin, so we jumped on the free shuttle bus to the Carlsberg factory and museum.

We took the self guided tour around the old factory which told the tale of brewers and Carlsberg throughout the ages. The story genuinely was quite fascinating, the stables where the old cart horses are kept (now just used for promotional events) was cool and I managed to get a selfie with Louise (one of the horses) before I got greedy and tried to go for a second and she promptly head butted me :-D. The tour cost (covered by our Copenhagen card again) included a free gift (a decorative pin) and a free beer, so we chilled out in the surprisingly bustling and modern bar whilst we enjoyed a couple of pints and booked up some later stages of the trip.

For dinner we took a trip into the red light district (I saw a few sights let's put it that way!) and to 'Neighbourhood' a hipster 'organic everything' pizza place, which was really good. I had an orange, carrot and ginger juice and a garlic chicken and mushroom pizza, again all delicious. After dinner we went up the road to a bar called Mikkeler which was a little bit like a beer festival but in a tiny bar and obviously a permanent resident. I went for a fairly fragrant, IPA-like, larger which contained some sour Japanese flower who's name now escapes me. Dan had something that looked like engine oil and tasted like cough syrup! We did a little more trip planning and then headed back to the hostel to prep for the next day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb