No place like Copenhagen


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
February 7th 2012
Published: February 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

When I first decided to go to Copenhagen, it was really a last minute decision. Three days before I left for the Danish capital I booked my train and hostel, not knowing what I would do or where I would go. I had only heard from others that it's great. The previous weekend I was in Amsterdam, a complete disaster. A beautiful city, don't get me wrong. But a complete disaster of a trip. Let's just say some people don't travel well together and leave it with that.

My only student on Friday cancelled, and there was a bank holiday on the following Monday, so I had 4 days to either bum around Kiel not feeling so great or take advantage of the time. Money was tight, but I needed to be revived. Enter: Denmark.

Best choice I had made for myself so far! It was the second week of June, the weather was more than perfect if that's possible and by the end of the weekend I didn't want to leave. Such a beautiful city with its classical buildings, gardens, museums. The people were so warm, friendly and up for a laugh with this American girl who hopped over the water from Germany. I walked, walked, walked. Took breaks to read and journal along the water, in the gardens in the hostel bar. I was at peace even though I was so far away from home (America), feeling a bit like an outsider in my new home (Kiel) where I had only been living for about 2 and half months.

Long story short I did go home and things seemed to improve. 6 months later I went back for New Year's with my boyfriend. Sure, I saw a lot of the same things but they were in a different light, a different environment and through the eyes of my man who's only once left Germany for holiday nearly 15 years ago. Everything was new for him and it was wonderful to be able to share all the sights. Those that I could show him and the ones we discovered together.

And that's my story. ;-) I took an outrageous amount of pictures, but here are some of my favorites from both trips. A very different environment from June to January! Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb