I'm a survivor


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
May 28th 2006
Published: May 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Right then, well though my travels might not be happening on a regular basis at the moment, i am still making attempts to visit countries whenever I can. I currently find myself in Copenhagen the capital city of Denmark and tonight i experienced one of the most adrenalising moments ever, which i have to add to this blog.

Earlier today i went to a Karaoke bar where people were karaoke singing as one would expect. This is something I have never done and something i never expected to do quite frankly. Anyway, the place was full quite early on and the people i was with told me to go up and sing (despite the fact that they did not do so). I though what the hell and decided to do so, i looked through the list of the (literally thousands) of songs that were available and one song hit me like a hammer as the one I should sing. The song was "Survivor", one of my favourite songs and one where i felt i would perform well because i would feel the lyrics run through me as i feel the lyrics of this song from the heart.

Anyway, i got up to sing it and had absolutely no idea what would happen. But immediately i belted the words out like nobodys business, everyone in the packed house seemed to take note as i screamed all the lyrics from the heart. The place was full and everybody seemed to take note. I did not stop belting out the lyrics until the song as finished and afterwards I got a simply awesome reaction from the crowd, who all claped and cheered me. My response was to lift my arms up in triumph after the song which only made them cheer more. Everybody seemed to love it and I really believe it was because the lyrics of the song are so heartfelt for me that I gave it absolutely everything.

Later three Danish guys were leaving the bar and they all came up to me and told me what a great performance it was. They compared me to Gary Newman (a singer of the 70's I think). Also I went to the bar to buy a drink and another guy there spoke to me and told me "great job" in relation to my performance of "Survivor". It felt great, i guess i now know how my brother feels everytime he performs a great gig.

"Thought, i couldn't breathe without you, Im inhaling
Thought I couldn't see without you, perfect vision
Thought I couldn't last without but Im lastin'
Thought that i would die without you but Im living
Thought i would fail without you but Im on top
Thought it would be over by now but it won't stop
Thought that i would self-destruct but Im still here
Even in my years to come Im still gonna be here

Im a survivor,
Im not gonna give up,
Im not gonna stop
Im gonna work harder
Im a survivor
Im gonna make it
I will survive
Keep on surviving"

I did sing some other songs on the night (notably, "It wasn't me" by Shaggy which drew a great reactrion from a bunch of girls who may have been on a hen night or something similar) but Survivor was my greatest performance and the adrenaline when the crowd cheered and i raised my arms in triumph was a simply awesome moment that has to be added to my blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb