Photographs


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
October 30th 2009
Published: October 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woah, ok, I kind of fell off the radar a bit there... There is no way that I could condense all of the things I've been doing down into one entry so instead I present to you a picture dump.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

BornholmBornholm
Bornholm

Me sitting on the rocks in Bornholm. This photo was taken a few days after my last blog entry. I spent about a week in Bornholm with my host mother and sister. It was great - so relaxing! - and I had a lot of fun on the beach and in the forests. It's even more amazing in summer than it is in winter.
TowerTower
Tower

Julz and I climbing up the tower of the Church of Our Savior in Copenhagen. Julz stayed at my house for about a week. It was great showing someone else around the city, and being the tour guide, for once.
ChristianiaChristiania
Christiania

Julz and I took a long walk with my host mothers brother and his girlfriend through Christiania on one of the days. It was the first time I'd been past the tourists pusher street. I had no idea how big and beautiful it was before then.
WallWall
Wall

Julz sitting on the wall of an abandoned building just outside Christiania. That's also my host mothers brother, in the left hand corner. We had fun exploring the building looking at the graffiti and taking photos.
HouseHouse
House

Just one of many examples of the houses in Christiania. I think one of the coolest things about this place is that you don't have to pay rent or anything. I think you need some sort of permission to live there, but after that you just grab a piece of land and build a house there. This homes are so diverse.
BonfireBonfire
Bonfire

Julz, Elisabeth and I made a bonfire in the garden and toasted marshmallows at night time. It took us an embarrassingly long time to get the fire started, but it was definitely worth it... Yummm...
Julz and IJulz and I
Julz and I

We took this photo out the front of my house. We're standing at the bottom of the driveway. We took a lot of great photos all around the garden that day. Also, in the background on the left you can just see my host sister and her friend playing.
CastleCastle
Castle

Mum, Dad and I visited this Danish castle with my host mum. I can't remember the name :S
Castle groundsCastle grounds
Castle grounds

Dad kept saying this looked like our garden back home in Australia. Yeah, right.
Castle 2Castle 2
Castle 2

The same castle in Denmark. I wish we had time to go inside and look properly, but on that day we were driving around with my host mother and there were a lot of things to see.
ThatchingThatching
Thatching

The roof of my host families house being thatched. The house is shaped like a U, and two of the sides were already thatched. It was really interesting seeing how they did it.
Town hallTown hall
Town hall

Mum and I outside the town hall. This is one of my favorite buildings in Copenhagen. I think it's also one of the first I noticed when driving around the city for the first time. It's so big and imposing-looking.
FeetFeet
Feet

Dad was being silly in the Town Hall.
StaircaseStaircase
Staircase

Mum and I in the town hall. We wandered around for a while - it's a great building beautifully decorated and there's much more to see inside than I'd expect.
La GlaceLa Glace
La Glace

Mum and I in La Glace cafe in Copenhagen. It's quite expensive but it's one of the oldest shops in the city and they are famous for their sports cake (which we had, and which is not very sporty)
DomeDome
Dome

Inside the Marble Church in Copenhagen. This is another one of my favorite buildings, but one I don't get to see as much, as it's further away from the city center than a usually go.
ChurchChurch
Church

Mum and Dad outside the Marble Church in Copenhagen. I took them on a round-city tour that day.
Canal TourCanal Tour
Canal Tour

Mum, Dad and I on the boat in Nyhavn just before the canal tour. It went for about an hour and it was really good :D We saw the theater, the Little Mermaid statue, and many other famous sites.
Little MermaidLittle Mermaid
Little Mermaid

It's so little. This photo was taken from the boat during our canal tour.
ElisabethElisabeth
Elisabeth

My host sister leaving for school. She's such a diva and she's eating the yummiest bread! It has little bits of chocolate in it.
EricEric
Eric

My host brother. He can be very annoying but for the most part (especially once you get used to him and he gets used to you) he's great and he can be lots of fun.


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb