Copenhagen, Denmark & train to Sweden


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
July 7th 2007
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Goodday all,

Im writing here from Falkenberg, a small town between Malmo and Goteborg in southwestern Sweden.

Yesterday the flight Amsterdam - Copenhagen had a delay of 1,5 hours, that's why I could spend just 5 hours in Copenhagen. Actually that was enough. I had a chance to sit down and eat something, and see many of the most popular sites in the city, like: Den Lille Havfrue (the little mermaid) and Nyhavn (new harbour). Nyhavn to me was the most beautiful part of the city I saw.

The city itself is very clean and it has many nice and historic buildings...and it's expensive!!!! After I arrived at Kastrup airport, I had to print my Swedish traintickets at a machine and a ticket to the city. This was easy. I got a free map of the city so in the train I started figuring out where all the attractions are situated. Once at the station I met two Dutch guys who're going to board a cruiseship later that day. After we left our luggage at the station, I walked just for a while together with them in the city. Then they wanted to sit and eat somewhere and I said that I'll continue with my walking tour 😉. It was raining a little bit when we arrived, so I bought an umbrella. Later it stopped raining. It was easy to walk around the city with a map and seeing many sites. I got back to the station just in time to catch my train, which was delayed by almost 15 minutes.

The train went over the famous Oresund Bridge, which connects Denmark and Sweden. The bridge is about 8 km long and was opened 7 years ago. The trip to Falkenberg took about 3 hours. Passing along cities like Malmo, I saw streets and many fields and yards completely flooded. They had very heavy showes Thursday.

In Falkenberg Lisa came and pick me up, Tommy's girlfriend. We came home for a while, I left my baggage etc. and we went to a party organized by the company where Tommy works. There I him and we had a few beers. After this we went to a club in Falkenburg town, but we didn't stay long as I became exhausted and needed some sleep.

Today I woke up at 10am and it's raining again!!! Don't know what we're going to do yet, probably play some pool and if it becomes dry we'll go and see the area. Otherwise that will be tomorrow, because they predicted dry weather for tomorrow.

All right, that's all for now. Monday I'm leaving to Stockholm. I'll try to write a report from the city.


Take care all,

Elton
Falkenberg, Sweden


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



7th July 2007

Have fun!
He Elton, What a worldtour you're gonna take!!! Impressive! Not a short trip for a few weeks, but for months! So, no volleyball for you coming season. Well, have fun during your trip around the world. See you later! Bye, Thomas
8th July 2007

nice
Very nice Travelblog and pics Elton keep us posted. Bon mes sa trankil
8th July 2007

ELTON..ABOUT SWEDEN...!
Hello Traveller! You just gived me some "creeps" by reading and watching your pics from Sweden... I had some "horror stories" in Sweden during the december Hollydays....I had a nice (ofcourse!!!!) girlfriend in Jonkoping Sweden....(mas den nort di Malmo ku Gutenborg'nan aki..) and we had some "quarrel" december 30,almost Newyear...! She almost "throw" me outside her home in the extreme cold and about 30 cm snow...!!!! I will save you the further details till when we are private. Robby Schouten is planning long time ago a so called "World Tour" with a group of "Ju'i Korsou and Rubianos",in that case i'am supposed to go.So who knows we will met somewhere between the Cangaroos or the Rocky Mountains in the States. Bon biahe i nos lo sigi bo pasonan...Kwidou si banda di Sr. Petersburg swa! Alex.
8th July 2007

ROMA I VENEZIA
Elton,i forgot this last message; Tuesday july 17 and wednesday 18 we will be in Rome with about 70 Rubianos and Antianos..! We will stay at the "Hotel Summit" that is at the bario "Aurelia"....There is a train station right over there. The address is: Via Della Stzione Aurelia , telephone: 066 641 8010 So if you are in town,drop-in and "dal un bitter"! And when in Venezia,(thursday 19 / friday 20) we always stay at "Hotel Venezia",a beautyfull hotel situated at Via Teatro Vecchio 041 985 533 (tin un restaurant Chines kampeon djies pega den bocht ey) So maybe we can meet in Rome at the famous "Trevy Fountain" the whole gang will be there tuesday 17 by noontime! Saludos again,and take good care. Alex.
8th July 2007

Steven and Thomas, thanks for your comments!!! ALEX, I'm leaving Rome on July 17th @ 15:00 (from stazione Tiburtina), then I'll go to Campania (Sorrento)...and I'll visit Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius and Napoli. But maybe we can meet on that day just before I leave to the south. My hostel is near the stazione centrale (Termini). I will check how far your hotel is. Venezia will be my last stop in Italy before going to Croatia, I will be there from July 26 till 30.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb