Denmark to New York to San Frantastic


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Arriva in SF


After some time hanging out at Sofie´s pad (which she´s just managed to rent out) in Copenhagen, tearful farewell to her parents at Kastrup airport and my promising to take good care of her.

---- 8 hours of so of boring (as in a drill boring through your skull) flight-life slips by

No cool personal screens, only monitors that drop down somewhere overhead that only 20%!o(MISSING)f people have a good view of; our monitor exhibited an interesting monochrome/blue characteristic.

i.e. Continental SUCK. Awfully small seats, and no limitless free booze. Everything I´d promised my girl - yet to experience intercontinental travel - now dashed. I shouldnt have built up her expectations with my tales of flying with decent enterprises like Virgin Atlantic (I don't wish to advertise for R. Branson, I just posited them in order to have an opposite who I'd already experienced to contrast to Continental's utter lack of customer service - I thought this was supposed to be an American company! And thinking back, it was on a British Airways flight that myself and a companion were provided with an unceasing river of complementary G&Ts, whilst watching Annie Hall from Woody Allen - how good is that?! Virgin to SF were good though with their great fully-controllable personal video, music and games console. Well, I'm now getting carried away.....). Here's the touch-down in JFK anyway, with several firsts for Sofie: first time in the States, first time in a Diner, etc. Despite the fact it's only a tourist one in the airport, she still seems well 'stoked':





And once beer is in hand, I'm happy too:




So eventually we take off, and get to see some of the US in daylight. If the first flight to NYC was bad, the connection to San Fran was abismal. The plane was even more packed than the transatlantic one, with somehow even less leg-room. But the 'food' took the biscuit: we were given the most disgusting fat-soaked hamburger, chips, a macaroni 'salad' (the list of ingrediants is like a recipe for an atom bomb - come to think of it, I guess that just takes a bit of uranium; this concoction was just as radioactive if you ask me though) a cream-cake and a greassssy biscuit. I thought this smorgasbord of healthy eating was worth a picture. Talk about holding the Cattle Class travellers in contempt, why not just punch them in the face too on their way out of the plane after landing?:







Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb