Cph International Film Festival


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
September 27th 2006
Published: December 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 55.6763, 12.5681

They are great for the ole festivals here, this is the 2nd film fest. since we been here and if you know me you'll know I overdose in film festivals & then don't go to the cinema for 2 years. So anyway the CIFF was on the last 2 weeks of Sept. 06. Am big into Finland now as have seen a great Finnish/Swedish movie called 'Mother of mine', about the 70,000 Finnish kids sent to Sweden in WWII for safe keeping. Human Interest kind of thing - I wouldn't say there was a dry eye on the house. Then coincidently Mum rings me the other day & announces she 'feels like spending some money let's go somehwere' so I said 'cool you are onto the right woman where will we go', so we are off to Helsinki (& Tallinn hopefully) at end Oct.

Anyway back to CIFF then I went to an english one called 'Pierrepoint' but I see on web its called "The Last Hangman" in UK so you can guess what its about. But it was very good with some good english actors you'd know well. Went for a few drinks after with some people I met in danish lessons - one of which is nuts so went on a bit of a tear with them & am feeling a bit ropey now... (mind you went for drink on Mon. with 2 danish girls & they went home at 9pm to see Miss Marple, I am not joking). Then C. and I went to 'Wind that shakes the Barley' about Irish war of Independence very good, very grim, very sombre. And to finish off I went 'Science of sleep' in French/Spanish/English with Danish subtitles so I dunno if I got all the jokes but it's by the guy who did 'Eternal Sunshine of the spotless mind' so if you like that kind of thing (I do) it was crazy but good. As C. was in Ireland for some of that time I also went to see ultimate chick flick (for me)'The Devil wears Prada' - brilliant!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb