Afghaner


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Birkerød
February 25th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I normally don't wear my new headphones when I'm walking by myself in the dark, but today I made an exception because it wasn't that late and I was only walking the 200m from the bus stop to my house. I saw two guys walking the other direction and I turned off the podcast that I was listening to because I wanted to be alert. They flag me down as we get nearer and ask me in Danish:

-Excuse us - do you know where the 500S stops?

-Yes, it's just ahead.

-Thanks. Are you Danish?

-No, I'm half-Danish.

-Where do you come from?

-I'm from the USA.

-The USA?! No. Well, you look like an Afghan.

-I do?

-Yeah, you look like an Afghan!

-I'm not.

-No? OK. Well thanks, and bye.

I was wandering around Christiania the other day with my friend, and we passed what appeared to be a three-walled shed filled with piles of clothes. The signs said "Take and give" - I guess it's sort of like the have/leave/need/take-a-penny concept that some stores have, but on a grander, slightly more useful scale. Maybe once it warms up (if ever) I will take some clothes that are still wearable, but not by me, and deposit them there so another person can make good use of them.

And one last thing: I've been neglecting to take pictures recently. This is partly because I forget, but mostly because everything looks gray here, and that's all. Though I know if I just opened my eyes a little wider I would see something beautiful in all of it. But in three days I'm off on a class trip to Istanbul, where I will take, without exaggeration, hundreds of photos. Just wait for it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.233s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb