So this is the new year


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Birkerød
January 24th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Little MermaidThe Little MermaidThe Little Mermaid

She's bigger than I remember, but still smaller than you expect.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!!!


I started school on Thursday. There are approx. 662 students, full-years like myself included. The newbies have questions - should I actually do the homework for this class? (No) Where is a good place to buy jeans? (Not Denmark) What's a good restaurant? (I don't know, I don't go out for food) Where do you meet Danes on a Monday night? (Where do you meet Americans on a Monday night? Exactly - neither of us know). I am optimistic about the quarter, despite my previous doubts. I think my new attitude has a lot to do with the fact that I saw the sun for the first time in what seems like months. The days are slowly but noticeably getting longer.

• Sunrise: 08:18 • Sunset: 16:27 • Length of the day: 8h 09m 12s

Today is 3m 34s longer than yesterday! That's incredible! And since I have classes in the mornings and afternoons, I could potentially be outside while the sun is up! Fantastic! I never realized how wonderful sunshine is until it's gone. Apparently the government supplies Vitamin D supplements to refugees living in the asylum camps here in Denmark because many of them are not
Rainbow WarriorRainbow WarriorRainbow Warrior

One of Greenpeace's ships was anchored here, awaiting the release of three GP activists who were arrested during COP15 for crashing the dinner with the Heads of State. They were held over Christmas - no visitors, no letters.
as white as Danes and come from sunnier regions of the world, so they could suffer without it.

The other day I joined my Danish friend for lunch at his cafeteria at KUA - Copenhagen University at Amager. The old building reminded me quite a bit of my high school - ugly, uncomfortable color combinations, not much light. But the food was fairly reasonably priced, I assume because it's the cafeteria. I got a plate of salad, a beer, and a candy bar for about $6.

I have very nearly stopped converting prices in my head every time I buy something. I'm getting used to the prices of things here, so I can compare them to each other and not to American goods. This is an invaluable skill, and a sort of threshold for foreigners to cross.

It is currently -5C, but the talk around town is that Wednesday will bring temperatures of 5C. That will pretty much melt the remaining snow on the ground (which has thus far been admirably stubborn in its refusal to melt). There is still enough snow to allow for some cross-country skiing. Yesterday I went with my uncle Søren to Bagsværd
NyhavnNyhavnNyhavn

It's called "new harbor" but it's actually one of the older parts of the city. It's kind of touristy now, but very charming.
Sø, a sizable lake near his house. We skiied out onto the frozen lake, which was covered with dogs, ice skaters, other skiiers, children, and kite-surfers. It was beautiful. We probably did about 4km, out and back. Winter can be fun in Denmark! I imagined it would be damper and slushier, but I guess that's what I have to look forward to in February and March, once it heats up a little bit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

It's Not for Girls!It's Not for Girls!
It's Not for Girls!

A candy bar Kevin picked up in London.
Monarchy is such a turn-offMonarchy is such a turn-off
Monarchy is such a turn-off

...partly because they get to eat their meals off works of art (Royal Copenhagen).
After the operationAfter the operation
After the operation

Needless to say, I didn't go out very much that week.
The end resultThe end result
The end result

Now my nose is almost fully recovered. I will probably have a scar or two from the cuts I received, but at least I have a mildly normal nose.


26th January 2010

you go girl
elisabeth, wow i'm glad to see you are having quite the adventure. mom, dad and of course the boys keep us up to date on your travels. i enjoyed reading about Christmas, with your grandpa and of course a pop in visit by mom for new years. i am glad your nose is healing it looks like it hurt a bit, but i know you are not a wimp. so study hard and enjoy the adventure f your life. we will hold the fort down. jeff peer

Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0968s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb