Praha


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic
July 9th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up in the morning and there was someone moving above me!!!! I looked around and all my stuff was on the floor in front of me. When the hell did this happen. I must have been long passed out. HAHAHa i felt pretty bad she had to get my stuff off the bed before she could even sleep! It was around 9ish packed up my stuff to be in time for the 10am check out. If you didnt check out on time they had this written threat that you had to sign that said you had to pay for two days or something crazy like that if you didnt check out on time. I had a BIG city to see in just one day and I wasnt planning on staying another night!
Said goodbye to the mates, took a crappy picture of us and just like that I was gone. I walked outside leaving my bag behind at the hostel. Just as I stepped outside it started to rain. It was actually pretty funny cause I asked the guys if I should bring a jacket and they said ahhh not dont worry about it at all. Everyday it sprinkles for a minute around 3 but other than that it never rains!! Pretty funny I thought. Ran back in grabbed the jacked and started out on my way. Everything is just shittier in the rain dont you agree.
Lucky for me it only lasted around 15 mins as I was walking down beside the river. Saw this wicked fountain but had a hard time gettin a good shot in the rain. Continued on the path. Prauge is known for its wicked architecture. Every two seconds there is another amazing building to check out. The roomies also told me when I was looking at a building yesterday that when they first got there they were taking pics like mad but after awhile they just got used to seeing soooooo many of them, it kinda wore off.
Found my way to the famous Bridge that goes over to the Palace on the Hill. TONS of ppl oh my god. Talk about closterphobia hahaha. There is all kinds of cool things on the bridge. Tons of buskers making music or doing tricks or painting ppls pictures, and lots of monuments depicting past Czech rulers and holly figures & (crap as I call it). Made my way over taking some pics of things. Went through the square and headed up the hill to the palace. The steps are pretty long up there. I think there in some movie Michael Caine is in or something. Got up to the top after running for a bit. WOW oh my god the view is spectacular fragelistic. Took tons of pics and then finally made my way up to the gates around the corner. They were about to do the change of guard at noon so I was in luck on my timing. People were already lining up to get a good spot for some reason. The guards were standing there with their guns just staring blanky like most of the other coutries ive seen already.I wasnt too set on seeing the whole thing so I explored around a bit as they were getting organized for the change. Not much to see up at the top I found out rather quickly. Came back to witness this event, got bored pretty quick and left back down the other way which was a ramp cars could get up as well.
Got to the bottom and saw some interesting shops. One was a shop purely for Abinsthe. The girl was just lockin up as I walked inside. I peered in the window and saw the huge selection of absinthe they had. Beside that was a number of ventriliquist doll shops. Creepy but cool at the same time. Took some pics but kept on my way down the hill. Got down to the bottom by the square I had walked through earlier and went right instead of left to see if I could find something good to eat. I walked into the pastry shop and bought a cheap pastry which was pretty tasty. Cost me like 50 cents. Then I walked abit further and went inside this other cafeteria looking place. Bought a sandwhich there which had a huge hunk of cheese in it but no meat. Took my sandwhich across the street and sat down in front of this church people were all gawking at. OHHHH man this was HANDS down the best cheese sandwhich I ever had. It was like not even 2 dollars and it was wicked. I was even full after it. So good. Yum im getting hungry just remembering it. WHat a fatass I am.
I didnt really know what else to do around Prague so I sat in this park and stole some wifi checking out ideas. The number one best voted place was this museum inside the Palace called the Lobkowitz museum. Everyone was raving about it so I figured I guess I should walk back up those god damn steps and check it out. Im really glad I did because I didnt know this but you could go inside the Palace ground for free. THere were tons and tons of shops around there and you could see the gargoyles on the huge gothic church.Walked down through the maze of people towards the edge of the castle and found it. It wasnt too expensive as a student and I was one of the only people I saw for quite awhile. This was a museum about a Royal family in the Czech rebuplic and the building was actually a palace itself.
The guy who owns it now enherited it from his father after he died. HE sounded American the way he spoke but it was because of the war that they had to escape the country. NO PICTURES allowed. The museum had some great artwork as well as ancient artifacts that were all part of the collection. The most famous being Mozart and Beehtovens origional manuscripts hand written on some of there symphonies. WOW it was pretty darn cool to see Mozarts real writing. He had things crossed out and everything. I was feeling pretty reblious and had to get some evidence of this and all the other things around. No one else even dared to bring out the camera with the museum patrons all carefully looking out for it and cameras up the ying yang. But I managed to get away with it without any confrontation. UNTILL the very last part of the tour where there was this HUGE ass dining room with this crazy artwork on the ceiling. I was a bit too confident in my sneakiness and this old lady started running towards me. Well I was definetly busted I knew that. She starts yelling at me and shaking her finger at me and pointing at the sign. I was oh whoops sorry and she was pretty choked. HAHA needless to say she gave me some dirty looks and kept a careful eye on me untill I left the building. I felt kinda bad but it was kinda funny at the same time. What can they do right. Maybe theres some crazy law in the Czech Rep that you can be put to death. HA mom would have a fit.
After that I went outside and took more pics of the cityscape below me. Incredible really. It was quite the site I will remember for the rest of my days. After I crossed the bridge again with the tourist train and walked straight towards the city center. THere was a few highlights pointed out on the map I was referring from. I missed the tour and now only had an hour to get back the hostel so I figured I could get most of it done anyway.What can I say I saw a ton of things that day. Gonna have some trouble remembering names. God bless the internet.
Got back to the hostel a bit behind schedule. I was gonna call Benny and tell him I was in Prague but I didnt have enough time. The train left at 230 from Prague to Berlin.The lady at the desk said its way to far to walk to the station but I already walked it before, so I knew I would be ok!!! Had to keep a good pace but I made it sweating my ass off in good time. Couldnt find anything that related to Berlin in Czech on the board but one name that said Beritz or something. I ran for that to make it in good time maybe 5 mins early. NOPE wrong train this was headed for inland Czech. SHITTTTTTTTTTTTT well here now i pretty much missed it anyways but i dont get it. How could I miss it. I talked to this dude who I think was working just taking a break. He was older im not gonna lie. He said ahhhh well pretty much all in Czech the whole time WRONG STATION!!! The next one which was the last one at that was leaving in an hour from here. But I had to reserve tickets. SO he said go to the ticket office after about 15 mins of discussions. How could I mistake that. THERE WAS TWO MAIN STATIONS i didnt even think to check that. I hadnt had any trouble with that before.
Lined up for tickets in what do u know THE WRONG DAMN LINE. Couldnt find the ticket office for about 10 mins. GOod thing I had a bit of time or I would have seriously lost it. Found the right place which was totally hidden underneath and waited in line for a good 25 mins to see about getting to Berlin. No indication that the station even had a train that went there other than my little Eurail booklet I had with some times in it. Well lucky for me there was one with seats even so it was cheap but it was gonna be a long ride. I tried to get the track number from her but they keep that secret untill like 10 mins before for safety reasons im guessing.
I went outside to chill out a bit and try and get internet in the park. No luck but I wrote abit on my laptop. Tons of other people were sitting down beside me. I grabbed a beer with the coins I had left and was sipping when this lady starts talking to me in broken english. She asked me if I liked the beer and if I wanted to get another one in the cafe there. Indirectly I knew she just wanted me to buy her a drink. She kept mentioning it and how good it was. It started off ok but then it just got annoying. I said no im ok im out of money now and I like this beer thanks. Out of no where she says to me CAN I suck your dick. You want sex she said next. I looked over at her with the biggest look of disgust and surprise. OHHH my god I said not at all. HAHAHA she even had like 3 teeth when I saw her jaw drop. OHHHH my i couldnt believe this was happening. She left soonafter without talking to me again. THank god.
10 mins till the train and still NO BERLIN ahhhhhhhhh. Sooooooo I took it one step further and went into the information place and asked. There was other people with the same problem as me. THing was that it was actually going to Amsterdam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FUCKKKKKK me it didnt say shit about Berlin but the only way I could tell was by the time of the train. It left at the exact same time and was the only one like that. HAHAHA so boys and girls learn from my mistakes and understand your stop isnt always gonna be on the board.
Got on the train to AMSTERDAM which was a sleeper car but had seats as well. It would get me into Berlin only 2 hrs later than I expected at 11pm. Still its not the best time to get into a major city like Berlin. Finally got there in good time and walked out into the train station. IT was completly dead other than two cops quietly speaking to each other. I dont think this was the main station!!!!! Found my way to the tram station and figured out I was quite aways away from the center where I wanted to be. I had booked a hostel when I was in Prauge and had directions from this main station so that was the plan to get there.
Well knowing me and my luck especially with everything in German my next language of struggle, I took the right train the wrong way. Didnt realize this till about 10 stops the wrong way!!! I was out past my 1 zone thing. Actually come to think of it. I didnt even have a ticket because I had no change to buy one!!! HAHA i was pretty nervous about getting busted by the metro police. It was like a 100 Euro fine or something. All I had were 50*s!!! So I jumped off the train almost at the very last stop and waited for it to come back and pick my dumbass up. This was in the middle of nowhere!!!
Took 10 mins at least for the thing to turn around. I was one of the only ppl on when it came back. I didnt know when the metro stopped either so I had to not make any more mistakes or face the consequences!!! Got to the main station. Followed my directions and went down to transfer lines. Waited with a bunch of other ppl all speaking German. THere was actually two ppl that came that spoke english which was slightly relieving. I was eves dropping on the convo and they werent sure if there was one more train or not. I only needed to take 3 stops or something, so I was listening carefully. This German couple were pretty much all over each other and drinking a bottle of wine on the bench beside me.
The tram ppl came out and said NO TRAIN its finished in German and said in English NIGHT TRAIN. Well the girl knew where it was from here so I followed the two of em out of the station. Got out and there were taxis everywhere. I thought ahhh screw it I dont even have change to get on this bus IM taking a taxi for once. Grabbed a cab and showed him the address I needed. He drove me the long way there and it cost me like 7 Euros for what I found out was a 5 min walk!!! HAAHA yep exactly why taxi drivers are the scum of the earth.
Got to the hostel and they were super nice. The hostel was HUGE it was a hotel pretty much. 9 Floors and over a 2000 beds. Yah alot of ppl come to Berlin for sure. No key for the room so they had to let me in. I told him I was super hungry and he asked me what I felt like. I said I dont care anything. Well this other guy nearby said oh theres a kebab and latenight pizza place just down by CHeckpoint charlie which was kinda close to the hostel I could check out. So he pointed me in the right direction and said just go straight. Well little to say but it took me 1 hr of wandering around hungry and I never found anything other than a bunch of cops who set up a road block.
HAHAHA a major city like Berlin and no food to be found. Give me a break. I just said enough of today and went to bed. I was sharing the room with like 5 other girls who were all asleep already. Night night what a day!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 32


Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1088s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb