Czech charades


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic
June 30th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post


Well, last night was interesting.

After my bratwurst I metro’d down to the soccer stadium to catch the bus to Prague. I was super not looking forward to this b/c it’s in the middle of nowhere.

I get into the station and 4 drunk teenagers show up and start heckling a group of Asians. (Definitely reminded me of Wonderland haha, who wears short shortsssss?) This went on for about 5min before the Asians angrily yelled at them in German to what I can only assume meant “eff off”.

I like their ticket checking system here in Munich, much more effective than Ottawa’s. The guards are dressed in street clothes, stand by the doors talking amongst themselves, and then once the doors close they spread out and crackdown. Much better than the OC ones in their gear - so obvious that everyone just hops off. D’uh.

Anyway, the ride to the soccer stadium was fine until the third last stop. Another group of drunks got on the subway, and I found myself alone w/ them as the last couple got off. I’m like d’oh, great. They joked around in German, and then proceeded to pee in the
English is sexyEnglish is sexyEnglish is sexy

A false welcome to Prague haha.
subway.

Ah, drunken teenagers - they act the same no matter what country you’re in.

Needless to say I was quite happy to get off the train, and even happier to see there were tons of people waiting for busses. Two German ones came, then some other travel one… sigh. Of course mine has to be late. It’s 11:30pm and it’s still not there.

I started talking with another couple that were also waiting for the bus - they happen to be from Gaspe, studying in Quebec City. Sweet. (THEY knew where Ottawa was haha). We talked about our backpacking adventures etc etc, and finally at 11:45m our bus showed up.

Even though it was late, we still managed to get into Prague an hour early. NOT cool. We arrived at 4:30am. I’m like no, this is dumb. I need sleep. I looked at the Eurolines schedule and saw a bus going to Brno (2.5hrs) at 6am. Score - since it’s free I decided to take it so I could get from free sleep. I’m so cheap.

First I dumped my bag in left luggage which was quite the feat - the lady didn’t speak
So happy!So happy!So happy!

This is another version of the ad w/ the smiley face on a bum instead. Epic.
English or French (at the international bus station…?), so we played charades. She wasn’t exactly friendly though - when I asked all day or by hour she started yelling at me in Czech and flailing her arms.

Okkkkk, walk awayyyyy.

I bussed to Brno and slept most of the way. I walked around the main area for about an hour (I didn’t have a map and didn’t feel like playing charades) and then I returned back to Prague. I only slept about an hour this time - the other hour was spent watching Friends on the bus haha. Loves it.

Back in Prague, I started my epic trip to my hotel - in the suburbs. Oh boy.

The subway wasn’t a problem; just like seemingly everywhere in Europe, you validate your own ticket and off you go. Subways are fun b/c it’s so easy to people-watch… especially when you’re packed in there like sardines.

I got off at Chodov - a giant shopping mall. I knew my hotel was on a specific street at one of the exit doors, but I didn’t know how to write it, nor how to pronounce it haha. YAY! According to the travel planner I had to take bus 115, but I wanted to be sure, so I headed off to the information desk… not one of the 3 understood English or French.

More charades! =)

The lady was very nice though, not like the luggage lady. We finally managed to make sense of what we were both saying, and she confirmed 115, and we even managed to act out how to get to the bus stop. Sweet.

The hotel’s pretty decent, except it has one feature I hate. You have to “plug” in your electricity. There’s a slot beside the door for your key card to go - and that’s what turns on your electricity. I have never seen that before, anywhere. I spent like 30min trying all the switches before finally calling reception and she said it so matter-of-factly… I was like oh, how silly of me.

As we can tell, I had another one of my supreme lazy days. Which is good. I get to relax, and not stress, and not think, and not care.

Tomorrow I’m probably going to Kutna Hora (the Bone Church), explore that area a bit, and possibly go to a museum or two. I’ll wait to announce which one… although some of you already know hahaha. Oh my.

Thursday I’m going to do a full-day tour of Prague that covers a walking tour, a boat cruise, the Jewish Quarter, lunch and a drink, entrance to the museum (which I’m using tomorrow), the ghost tour(also probably use tomorrow), and of course, the Prague Castle. Sweet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.395s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb