My first teaching Job


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » South Moravian Region » Znojmo
October 11th 2007
Published: November 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Advanced ClassAdvanced ClassAdvanced Class

This was my first English class ever. These kids were hilarious. All they wanted to talk about was MTV and how to say swear words...
After spending a month on my TEFL training course, and then getting kicked out of my flat, I was ready to save some money.
So I accepted a teaching position in the small town of Humpolec. I was sent there to teach English at a camp for children on school holiday. I thought it would be a great chance to work on my Czech, but turns out, all the kids and all the people that work there, only spoke German...
It was nice to get out of the city for a little while, but this place was pretty rustic. Good thing there was an electric space-heater next to my bed or I would have frozen to death. There were a couple days were I had to wear all the clothes I packed; even when I was inside. The camp is used mostly during the summer so there is no need for it to have heat or insulation, but at least the showers were STAND UP showers and not a stupid bathtub like all the "showers" in Prague.
The kids were always yelling and hitting each other, but the food was great!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

KinderKinder
Kinder

When I wasn't teaching at Humpolec, I was always going on these "voyages to the wood" with the kids. This is the day we got lost in the woods in the freezing cold and I was the only counselor with 10 kids and I pretended to speak enough German to be a counselor...
Mlade BristeMlade Briste
Mlade Briste

A nice view from the camp road...a lot like Vermont
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

I spent my nights in the kitchen, drinking Czech beer and eating leftover gulash...mmm
WalkWalk
Walk

this is the day I got lost in the woods with the kids...in the freezing rain...not good.


Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb