Days 35, 36 & 37 in Europe - Brno, Czech Republic


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » South Moravian Region » Brno
January 18th 2013
Published: January 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

One week Done in Brno, Czech Republic! Days 35, 36, and 37 - Jan 16th, 17th and 18th:

So it has been totally cool crashing with Nick, while he is at work during the days, I venture into the 20 Degree unknown, and when he gets back from work at night he shows me around for some Adventures. During the weekends we go on bigger adventures.

I decided to mash up the past 3 Days into 1 Blog since I'm spending so much time here and not doing as much per day as my first month in Europe.

One of the highlights has come from roaming around the city in the snow, just walking and winding up in random parks and cool places. One of which was stumbling into Park Luzanky. It was pretty Awesome, it was the one of the Largest Parks I've been to in Europe, and it was super Cool, and not just the temperature. There was tons of snow everywhere which made for some really cool Photos. It was fun to walk around and get lost in its Epicness. I absolutely Love seeing bright red against white snow, I love the
Contrast in colors, so everytime I saw someone wearing a Red Jacket, I did the best that I could to take a picture of them without it being too much like some random Dude taking Creeper Photos of Strangers, lol. I also walked on a frozen lake, which was super scary thinking about falling into it if It wasn't frozen enough.

Another highlight was visiting a local Wine Bar that Nick's friend works at, so we went to it. This is one of the things I like about Europe. This place would be impossible to find if somebody didn't tell you about it. It is in some random street, with no really big signs, and you have to buzz in from the outside to get into the huge 20ft Door entrance, and buzz the correct button since there is a ton of other ones there. Once you open the doors, there is a long corridor with a couple of other doors waiting to be opened, with no signs telling you what door leads to where. After finding the right door, you follow another long hallway until you reach a simply Amazingly Secret, underground Wine Bar. It has a few rooms with a really nice classy feel which was super Awesome. The greatest thing ever is that they had 13 different wines to choose from on Taps, and thee very very Best part was that they were only 20 Koruna each, which is approximately just 1US Dollar a glass!!!!!! Usually in the states they would be like 6 or 7 Dollars a glass! Needless to say, I'll just say that it was a lot of fun there!

One thing I've been doing, unfortunately not at every country, but for a few of them I would go into bookstores. For some reason, I am fascinated with books stores, there is just something about them that makes me want to walk into them, especially in other countries. So what I've been doing is buying a random book when I'm in different countries to have a small collectioin of books from all over Europe. This book I bought in the Czech Republic is Epic. It looks Suuuuuper old, one of those books that look like there for making potions by witches from waaay back. It is also remarkably heaving for some reason, like super heavy. The pages look old too with drawn pictures on a few pages. I have no idea what It says since it's in Czech, but the Nicks friend working at the Wine Bar was interested in it, and she read through it quickly and told me it was written in the 1890's, and was a collection of stories or myths or something like that.

I also went back to the Immigrant a couple of these days for the last time to say goodbye and order my last food and beer, they are super cool there and I'm going to miss all of the workers there. I also went back to the place where I had the most Amazing Goulash, and ordered there Ribs because everyone here Raves about them. And Holy Cow, they were some of the best ribs I've ever had! You barely touch them and the meat just falls right off, it was increadable! I also met a lot of Nick's other friends who were all cool people, went to a Pool Bar and other cool Local Czech Places. For dinner one of the nights I had Boar's Neck for the first time, which I imagine is the meat from the neck, and it was interestingly good.

My Original plan was to go to Johnstone Scotland after the Czech Republic to check out my Heritage and stuff, but it turned out to be waaaay to expensive, so I made the executive desicion to save it for another Europe Trip. Instead, I decided that my 10th Country on my Trip will be Hungary! My next Adventure will be in Budapest, Hungary. There have been many Travelors that I've met during my travels who have told me to go to Budapest, so the Price was right so I'm doing it! I leave for it on the 20th by Charter Bus.

I will defintely miss Brno, everything was super inexpensive, the buildings and people are really cool and it was nice to be in a European town without having to go sight seeing, without being around tourists, and just hangout and live like one of the locals. The girls here are also pretty sweet, they are very attractive but they are super down to earth and very outgoing, like they don't know how attractive they really are so they're not stuck up or anything. Like with girls in California, if a girl's hot, she knows it and will be stuck up. Here, almost anyone will have a nice friendly conversation with you. I wil also miss Nick's cat who would always cuddle up with me when I was on the couch typing on the computer, lol.

Goodbye Czech Republic, Hello Hungary!

Chris


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Awesome Prices!Awesome Prices!
Awesome Prices!

20. Koruna is the about only 1 US Dollar for a whole glass of wine!!! Unlike the usual 6 or 7 Dollat glass!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!!!HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!!!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!!!

From the Czech Republic, January 17th, 2013!


Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb