Brno


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » South Moravian Region » Brno
February 15th 2009
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

For a small town, Brno has quite terrible traffic, mainly due to the small one or two lane streets I guess. We arrived on time but it took about 15-20 mins more to get to the bus station. Despite an initial mix up (there are two bus stations) my host found me and we dropped off my stuff before heading out to get some food. He also took me to a local pub to try a special beer unique to Brno - Pegas. They brew it onsite and it's unfiltered. I have to say that it's probably the best beer I've had so far - light, smooth and not too bitter😊 The also throw in lemon slices so there's a lemony taste too. Did a little bit of sightseeing at night on the way to pick up his girlfriend from work. They're both really nice and very easy to talk to.

The next day I did a say trip to Olomouc which was nice then had dinner with them in Brno. The day after, I finally got around to seeing brno. The cathedral was very nice and I think I really enjoy the Czech churches more than the Danish ones. They're mostly gothic and have very well maintained interiors. I also like that they are sitll functioning churches so the atmosphere is different. The cabbage square with the fruit and veg stalls was smaller than I expected but then again, I admire them for setting up and staying in the cold all day. The castel was nice and the views of the town were great but I didn't go in to see the interior or the museums. I also tried to get to the Tugendhat Villa but apparently it is guided tour only and reservations are required. So, I walked down and got a little lost in the park before heading to the bus station where I froze my butt off waiting for my bus to Vienna.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb