Cesky Krumlove


Advertisement
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I did a day trip to Cesky Krumlove and the bus ticket there was a horrible ripoff. Get the student agency buses or the other company that'll give an ISIC discount. I paid about 50% more to get there but managed to get a student discount price back. That said, it's usually much cheaper to just buy a ticket on the bus - they won't give a student discount and it's cash only but it's a lot cheaper and much more pleasant to deal with the bus driver. Just make sure to book early with student agency since they sell out really fast and almost never have seats you can buy from the driver.

I got to Cesky Krumlove but not much was open out of the tourist season. the two most interesting places - the castle and the marrionet theater (only open Sat and Sun off season) were closed and like everything else on the tourist season schedule, won't open until April. It was a really nice day though and it was quite pleasnt to spend just walking around the old town and castle grounds. It's quite a dramatic setting and really lovely when the sun is setting.

Like I do everywhere else, I ducked into a cafe to defrost. It was attached to the theater by the bridge leading away from the old town, had cheap hot chocolate, free wi-fi and a great view.

I got a bus back to Prague in the afternoon and although I didn't do much, I was really tired by the end of it. I suppose it was the 3 hour journey each way that did me in.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb