What does Barbie have to do with Czech culture?


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
August 13th 2006
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

aaa

A neat looking church I found on the way to the castle.
Geo: 50.0878, 14.4205

Prague castle - kitschy like Carcassone!!! A street called Golden Lane ... alchemists used to try and create gold back in the day so hence the name. Now it is all tacky souvenir shops. It's embarrassing ... the castle is a UNESCO World Heritage Site! There is even a Barbie museum. What the hell? A total cash grab.

It was extremely crowded at the Golden Lane exit. I'm sure lots of accidental groping was happening. I even accidentally groped myself a few times! I must admit that it was the highlight of the castle. I must also admit that it was no accident!

Changing of the guards ... boring and over-rated. And I saw the noon changing of the guards, which is supposed to be extra special. Lunch was a sausage roll and a pecan pie-like danish. Not too sweet and quite good.

St. Vitus cathedral inside the castle complex - completely packed. Another gothic church ... yawn .... The Royal palace - boring. I really had to get out of this place. Not enjoyable at all for so many reasons.

Petrin Hill Gardens - the funicular was closed and I didn't feel like walking up to the Eiffel tower-like
bbb

The "Cowboys" in Prague. Unlike the one in Calgary, I don't think silicone was on the menu.
structure at the top. Wallenstein garden - very nice, probably the highlight of the day (except for the groping).

Ran into a metro scam - some guy tried to sell me his "girlfriend's" metro ticket that she couldn't use as she had to leave. It made no sense - tickets are bought at any time and are validated when they are used. They would be good for anytime.

The metro escalators here move incredibly fast. I almost fell the first time I got on one. Very deep descent down into the Namesti Miru station .... vertigo! It felt like I was descending for forever.

I walked around Prague some more ... had some ham pizza (average) and a sausage (good, except that they steam their buns and make them all soggy). Desperately wanted a beer but never managed to get one. I settled for a green tea iced tea. Off to bed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

cc
c

Front entrance of the castle.
dd
d

Cathedral of St. Vitus. Who was St. Vitus you ask? I believe that he was the patron saint of ripping off tourists.
ee
e

You can pay to shoot a crossbow. Ahhh .... the tourist trap continues.
ff
f

Cool suit of armour. It looks a little too new to be authentic, you say? It's because every suit of armour on display was made by a guy that works in the castle. Of course, it was all an elaborate intro to a gift shop where you could buy swords and things like that.
gg
g

I'm surprised that they didn't charge tourists to use this ancient toilet.
hh
h

Golden Lane.
ii
i

The best part of Golden Lane - the exit!
kk
k

The Barbie museum. Pathetic.
ll
l

Cathedral of St. Vitus, the back side.
nn
n

The trumpeters at the changing of the guards ... joy! Joy! Joy!
oo
o

The crowd waiting for the changing of the guards. Just a mass of people. The castle was WAY too crowded.
qq
q

Woo hoo! We all waited for this! A few guys in blue uniforms. Guess I should've known better.
rr
r

r
ss
s

I wonder if the staff at the castle digs out all the change at night. While they drink the beers that the money buys they probably laugh at us "capitalist dogs".
tt
t

View from the castle.
uu
u

The lineup to get into the Cathedral.
vv
v

"Give us all your hard-earned tourist dollars or we will beat you capitalist pigs to a pulp!!!"
xx
x

Wallenstein Gardens.
yy
y

y
zz
z

z
zaza
za

Some little birds.
zbzb
zb

I only took a picture because the name made me laugh. Sad, aren't I?
zczc
zc

Cool natural rock formations. Wish I knew what it was and why it formed.


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb