Old Praha + Space Babies


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
July 14th 2006
Published: July 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

View of Tyn Church from Town HallView of Tyn Church from Town HallView of Tyn Church from Town Hall

Praha- worth the hype.
What is there to say about Prague? I have mixed feelings. On the one hand, its got some of the most beautiful buildings I have ever seen. On the other hand, there are so many tourists that coming from Eastern Europe, I felt almost disgusted. I know I'm a tourist, but these people will pay 3 dollars for a bottle of water, and that's a little weird.

We stayed at "the Clown and Bard" hostel, which was alright, though it was full of what Sam call's "Bros." They are usually American, wear sandals, baseball cap, and board shorts. There was a bar downstairs, and even though our room was on the fifth floor, we could here the "chug! chug! chug!" at 8:30 pm. Oh well.

I would reccomend that everybody visits Prague, its just as beautiful as any Western European city, and if you stay out of the tourist zones its much cheaper. There is also a TV tower with space baby statues on it. Don't believe me? Check the pictures. I didn't believe it at first, but there were space baby statues. And no explanation why. Oh well.

There is also Prague market, which is now run
space babiesspace babiesspace babies

What?!?!
by Vietnamese, we needed a new daypack and got ripped off because of our poor bargaining skills, its our own fault, but I got a new World Cup 2006 wallet for a good price. Another highlight was a czech cafeteria where we got some unidentified glop and dumpings for about 2.50, i think the sauce had meat in it, but i couldn't taste the texture or see any so its okay in my book. It was very good.

Bye Prague!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

ZizkovZizkov
Zizkov

The area we stayed in, nice residential blocks. Its pronounced "zhizhkov" in czech, a language that hates vowels.


17th July 2006

sounds like quite an adventure! i had a friend who stayed a year in Poland, and visited Prague a couple of times. He too said it was beautiful!
19th July 2006

Space Babies?
Drew just came back to Anchorage from Egegik last night and e-mailed me your link, so I read your whole book to date in one sitting. My eyes are blitzed from looking at sideways pictures. I hope the scenery in Norway is oriented more like the ones in AK so I don't hurt my neck trying to see the content. Probably won't be an issue, since Drew doesn't know how to write.... Glad to hear you are having such a grand adventure. I think you may be confusing decadent bourgios with exploitive capitalists, and (I forget the perjorative adjective) Aristocracy occassionally, but what the heck, if you can't be a little careless when you dis the past and present dominant power structures, what's the point. I was fascinated to see the anti-war poster. Who was it aimed at? Who did it hope to convince? It is interesting to hear about the political views of the people you meet, which fascinate me more than any musty old temple or reclining budda, (I was going to say stay out of the bars and the massage parlors, but I know you get your kicks above the waistline sunshine.) How much do the average citizens seem to remember the ideals that made "power to the people" such a compelling slogan? I always thought that had more of a ring than "Orthodoxy, Autocracy, and Nationalism" (circa 1902) Is the new motto "for the Euro-everything?" What topics preoccupy people most? What do they love to argue about? Are people receptive when you tell them that the usurpers represented by George W and Dick C do not represent the ideals of all (or even most) Americans? Everett wants to know why all you guys are going to different worlds - he disaproves of Drew and all his friends leaving him behind. Life may be simpler for a 5 year old, but it is still confusing. I never understood that Irish saying "may the road rise up to meet you" it sounds to me like a poteen swiller doing a face plant, so I'll just say I hope your shoes are holding up and your enthusiasm is holding out. SWC P.S. If you want to rent the Bear Tooth to put on a real slide show, I'll gladly pay to see it!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb