Jewish Muesum day in Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 27th 2011
Published: September 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I really wanted to stay in bed all day today but since my friends were still here I figured I go the Museums today with them and the Canadian group. (oh and I didnt get much sleep, fml)

The first museum we went to was an old church that was now a museum that had every name of a Prague Jew that was killed in WW2. When communism took over the Prague at one point they painted over all the names. ( pretty messed up) but eventually they re painted every name back up there for a second time. And if you could see this place..man alot of names. 😞

The second floor of this museum had tons of childrens art. In 1938 when Germany took over Czech, Jew started to be isolated an imprisoned in there own community. Being mentally abused and physically abused by the Germans. Well a lady taught an art class there and she help kids express their emotions through painting. Before every one was sent to concentration camps she locked up all the paintings in a suite case and hid them in an attic.

I don't remember the exact numbers but i think they said about tenth of those children survived. And there were thousands of them that got sent off. 😞

The art work was amazing to see and how they expressed themselves.

The second museum I went to was a cemetery. One of the largest ones. Back in the day they started to run out of room and couldn't get any more land so they started to add layers of dirt then add a casket. then another layer and casket. and there is about 10 layers now. They would just add another tombstone for every casket. Now there are tons of tombstones crammed together with uneven land. There is a memorial site in Berlin that I saw that made for this actually cemetery. I will have to put the picture together in a frame. I understand the memorial site even more now.

Today I also went to Charles Bridge and walked up and down it. They had some cool little shops on it. Nothing to fancy that I remember about it though. Just a famous bridge for Prague.

After I went back to the hostel to sleep till about 830. I went out to dinner with my friends since it was their last night here and then went back and slept the night away. Tomorrow I will be doing absolutely nothing cause I need my day of rest.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb