Jewel in the Czech Crown


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
May 10th 2004
Published: May 10th 2004
Edit Blog Post

PraguePraguePrague

Charles Bridge and Prague Castle
A short trip away with my sister has taken us to Prague. 12 hours train ride from Pecs, changing at Budapest.

The city of Prague is truely beautiful. The central square, Old Town Square, is full of restaurants, and cafes, and surrounded by magnificently lit churches. These aren't the cheapest place to eat - most of the prices are double what you can pay a kilometer further away, but the square is the place to be as a tourist. Talking of tourists, I've not seen as greater concentration of tourists in one place since I was in London. The streets are heaving with tourists and the street vendors, cafes, pavement tables that go hand in hand with them. On the negative side, groups of drunken twenty something British guys wander the streets like packs of hyeanas, singing out of place football chants, and generally being obnoxious to anyone in their way. If this is a stag party - I vow that mine will never be like this.

We stayed at Hostel Sokol in the Mala Strana, away from the worst crush. The hostel was clean, tidy and quiet only 4 backpackers on the first night.

After 12 hours
View from the TowerView from the TowerView from the Tower

Not great weather.
on a train getting a good meal was important for us. All the places that we ate during our stay were excellent, the average meal about £3 (150K), a good feed with drink, rolling in at 250 Czech Crowns (£5). Prague is the home of Budvar, famous across the world since exported by Budwieser. A half liter of Budvar will cost 25K - 60p, water costs more in a cafe.

Sights and sounds: First day Jenny and I went up the tower on the top of Petrin Hill, took a few photos, sat in a cafe whilst waiting for the rain to lessen. When finally the rain eased we walked down St. Wenceslas Square to the National Museum. Masses of stuffed animals, great collection of semi-precious and precious stones, and a temporary exhibition on water. Really interesting, most of the information is in Czech, but enough English information is available to make it worth a visit.

When I was young, I used to love dinosaurs, I had 6 postcards of paintings, recreating the life of dinosaurs. I was really taken back to find the originals in the national museum, Zdenek Burian, 1905 - 1981, Czech painter who worked
Tourists on Charles BridgeTourists on Charles BridgeTourists on Charles Bridge

My sister is one of the tourists.
with Palentologists to create the paintings More here.

I spent the evening taking photos of the city, lots of amazing views, water, lights, excellent for night photos - though don't expect to be the only one 😊

I'll add a Prague computer desktop background very soon Prague Wallpaper






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Dinosaurs in the Czech MuseumDinosaurs in the Czech Museum
Dinosaurs in the Czech Museum

By Zdenek Burian 1905-1981
Charles BridgeCharles Bridge
Charles Bridge

Early morning mist.


5th June 2004

Prague
Great pictures - I was blessed to spend a week there and I fell in love. I would love more than anything to go back. I think everyone should have the opportunity to see it! Absolutely Beautiful!
29th September 2004

Great Pics
The Photography you took can rival those taken by travel agencies, keep up the good work.
27th March 2005

Excellent photos
- Gerry
24th October 2007

Just Love Prague
I just love your pictures. Prague is my favorite city and I just love the Charles Bridge at any time of the day.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 36; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb