Day 34, Prague, Czech Republic


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
December 30th 2009
Published: January 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 34: Wednesday, December 30th, 2009
Prague, Czech Republic

Today we have a walking tour and canal cruise booked thru a local tour group. Also today, my cold that I've been fighting since Vienna (the 18th of December for those of you keeping score) has moved from a sore throat to a nice, lovely, phlegmy cough. I feel like crap once more. On a fun note, our neighbors at the botel decided to feed the ducks and swans from their window so we got to see nature up close and personal.

We head over to Old Town Square where we meet up with our tour guide, Emma. We arrive just before 10am so we're able to see the Astronomical Clock in action. We then follow thru the square, up to the Jewish Quarter and over to the Charles University and Wenceslas (I'm so tired of looking up the spelling of that word) Square while she tells us about the history of Prague, the buildings we're seeing, and the different types of architecture. "Tour Guide Dave" gave a good introductory tour of Prague when I was with the Contiki group, but it's nice to hear a more in depth version (and in a few cases, entirely different versions) of the city.

She takes us to a local restaurant where our lunch is included in our ticket price, and suggests dishes for us to try. I explain (in a voice that only sometimes works) that I'm feeling under the weather and that I only want chicken soup. She says I should try the goulash, it'll help. So, I order goulash. It was very good, but I still wasn't feeling better so after we walked over the Charles Bridge (and with the threat that the group was about to walk up the hill to the castle), I bow out of the tour and miss my final, and third, canal cruise (said no to the 1st in Prague, was stuck on a train in Amsterdam for the 2nd, and was sick and had to cancel the 3rd.) Bummer. I stop and grab some 7-up and a brownie (you know, sick food) on my way back to the botel and I crash and sleep for a few hours.

Susan comes back around 4pm and has thoroughly enjoyed the tour and cruise. I get filled in on the rest of the tidbits of Prague that I missed, and we head out to find some dinner. At least I think we did... I don't remember where we ate nor the rest of the night really. Yup, had more of that lovely cold syrup.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Yellow hat symbol.Yellow hat symbol.
Yellow hat symbol.

During Hitler's regime, Jews weren't allowed to leave their homes without wearing a yellow hat to show to others who they were. They turned that into a symbol.
A statue of some character from some play.A statue of some character from some play.
A statue of some character from some play.

Ya gotta admit, my memory is awesome!


7th January 2010

You found out everything Dave told you was a lie?
Chug a bunch of the cold syrup, then try taking a canal tour riding one of the swans.
7th January 2010

Yet another boat cruise gone bye-bye!
Hey Amanda, so let me get this straight- you say you missed your 3rd and final boat cruise in Prague, and you mentioned the first one you skipped in Prague and one in Nuremburg, but there's no mention of the Amsterdam-Rotterdam debaucle...are you telling me you actually missed 4 boat cruises? Do you have a membership card where if you miss 4, you can miss the 5th for free? Hee hee hee....don't hurt me! Luna
10th January 2010

Nope, just 3. My brain is friend and I meant to write "Amsterdam" for #2, not "Nuremberg". Will go fix that :) I'll find creepy bones to stare at one of these days!! (Paris Catacombs closed then Kutna Hora- what the heck?)
13th May 2010

Yellow Hat
The Yellow Hat: Was not worn during Hitler's time, but during the Medieval Period. The yellow star, the fabric, was made to be worn during Hitler's time.
14th May 2010

My mistake- good to know! Thanks Frank!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb