Prepositioning Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
October 7th 2009
Published: October 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Communism statuesCommunism statuesCommunism statues

These are the statues I wrote about.
Ok, so what I meant by the title is that I did just about everything today in Prague. I was in it (metro), on it (jazz boat on the river), over it (oh so many stairs to climb), and well, you get the picture. I slept a good 11 hours last night, so feel pretty good today. Went over to the other side of the river on the tram, thinking that I would take the funicular up to the top of a hill. Unfortunately it was down for maintenance it seemed, so I hiked up. Did see an incredible set of statures with the theme of Communism and how it tears away at people. I will put a picture up, but the picture just doesn't do the whole thing justice. At the top of the hill is a small scale replica of the Eiffel Tower. It was another set of stairs to climb, but so very worth it at the top. Since it is on a hill, it has an incredible view of the city. Was going to go to the Castle, but it was near noon, so I didn't want to hit the mass of tour groups.

Walked over
From Eiffel TowerFrom Eiffel TowerFrom Eiffel Tower

This is a view from the small Eiffel Tower here in Prague.
to the Jewish Quarter and did the tours there. The first part of the tour was many rooms covered floor to ceiling with the names of those killed. The rooms went on and on, as did the names. I had seem this on Rick Steves' travel show and wanted to see it in person. It was very sobering. After this, I toured the old cemetery. As I walked back over the Charles Bridge, I went into the tower and did the climb. It wasn't well marked, so I was the only one up there. Took some great pictures. Was nice and cool up there. I guess I didn't mention it, but today was beautiful. Sunny, warm and even hot during hikes and climbs. Glad I didn't pack short sleeved shirts, since that is why it was warm. At least in my mind that is the reason.

I decided to take the tram to the top of the Castle area and walk down. Yeah, good plan! Went to the Monastery at the top first. Decided to tour the library. The frescoes in the one section were from the 1600's if I understood correctly. Regardless, this place was old and interesting.
The Castle QuarterThe Castle QuarterThe Castle Quarter

Looking at the cathedral and Castle Area from the bridge tower.
There was a collection of sea shells, sponges and even a chambered nautilus that must have been from the same time period. I was very impressed. The main section is under renovation, but I did buy some postcards from there. While taking a picture from the grounds, someone offered to take my picture, so I have a shot that shows both of my arms. Honestly, it made me laugh. I followed down the hill and was at the Castle for the changing of the guard. Very cool. I did take a video of it, but for over half of it I caught a bald guy's head bobbing up and down. I was holding the camera up high to avoid that, but couldn't see the screen, so didn't realize it until I saw it later. Ah, the glitches of travel. Makes me laugh again. The other half of it came out just great. I did a quick trip of the cathedral which was huge and ornate. Had the most spectacular stained glass. Decided to skip a few small museums and walked down the hill to another church that had, get ready for this, yup, a tower to climb. I climbed up
Wow, Both ArmsWow, Both ArmsWow, Both Arms

See, I do have 2 arms. I Like this picture because it shows so much of Prague, and I look so happy.
to the top and again, was alone most of the time. One person came up later. It had just the best views of Prague and the Charles Bridge.

Took a few minutes for pizza at a little stand, then came back to the hotel to upload pictures and sit for a few minutes. Then, back on the road. This time I took the Metro. It is fairly straight forward and easy to figure out, but wow is it deep. I have never seen an escalator longer than this one. The Metro was so easy that I was early for the Jazz Boat, so went and watched the Astronomical Clock.

The Jazz Boat was a hoot. The band was good, the beers were very very large and hit the spot. I was assigned a table with a nice businessman from Switzerland. We chatted a while, but I spent a lot of time on the top deck enjoying the cool night, but still listening to the Jazz. I would do this tour again. Took the Metro back and am writing this a bit after midnight. Time to load pictures and call it a day. I need to think of a
The New GuardThe New GuardThe New Guard

This was just after the changing of the guards. It took me back to Arlington National Cemetery with the formal ceremony.
good signature closing line. Hmm. Will try a few out and see how they feel. Ok, here is today's. From here to there, Ciao.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

One Stained Glass WindowOne Stained Glass Window
One Stained Glass Window

All I can really say is "Wow"
Dummy in the windowDummy in the window
Dummy in the window

I laughed out loud at this dummy begging for money. And yes, it is a fake dummy. Not sure about the story here, but it was funny.
I found my placeI found my place
I found my place

This was from the last church tower climb. I saw all the plants, and thought, "Hey, this is where I would live"
All Righty ThenAll Righty Then
All Righty Then

Ok, so perhaps I wasn't thrilled for the entire jazz ride. I really did enjoy it thought, but liked this silly picture. that is the Charles Bridge that we just passed under.
Another ViewAnother View
Another View

This Castle Quarter just stands out over the city.


8th October 2009

Nice Pictures!
Sounds like your have a great time and the pictures look really good. Can't believe that most of your body can be seen in one. Very unusual for you. Ha Ha Maybe when you watch that video you can tell everyone that one of your brothers is standing in front of you (the bald guy). Hope you enjoy your trip as much as I enjoy reading about it.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb