first night/day in Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 5th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

kolej komenskeho kolej komenskeho kolej komenskeho

Our dorm, at night :)
I got off the airplane around 6:30pm... 12:30am US time.. with no sleep since friday morning! After I got my baggage, a cute Czech guy was standing there, holding my name.. he was very friendly and showed me some good cheap places to eat as we drove to the dorm. I could tell when were there because I googled it before I got here! My dorm is called kolej Komenského and its in Praha 6 near the Prague castle.. So we have a lot of tourists which means its hard to find a cheap restaurant. I walked in with my suitcases and met my "dorm mother" in the hallway.. I happen to be in her suite which I wasn't so psyched about at first, but it turns out that she is really cool. She's in her late sixties, but has the energy and enthusiasm of someone my age! After I unpacked a little, she took a bunch of us to a pub and knew everyone there by name.. I already felt like I had connections 😊 She told us how to order beer and ended up drinking more than me. I found out right off the bat the beer is a
kolej komenskehokolej komenskehokolej komenskeho

Our dorm, during the day :)
HUGE part of Czech culture. They serve beer in 1/3 liters and 1/2 liters.. and its about 25 CK for a 1/2 liter (1.50USD). I ordered fried cheese (a Czech favorite). Its like a flat mozzorella stick, but they use a different type of cheese and you dip it in tartar sauce.. We also had "beer bread" which Czech eat while drinking beer (obviously). It is toasted bread with olive oil served with whole cloves of garlic which you scrape on the bread. It was really good, but we all had garlic breath for like a day! Then finally after having no sleep for like two days I passed out!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

kolejkolej
kolej

The lobby of the dorm.
kolej komenskehokolej komenskeho
kolej komenskeho

Hallway of the kolej.. very very YELLOW.
kolej komenskehokolej komenskeho
kolej komenskeho

grass basketball court.. it actually works.
our tram stop!our tram stop!
our tram stop!

All the stops are in Czech, so this is how I know I'm at my stop.


12th October 2009

bahahaha that old lady sounds awesome!
4th November 2009

Hey
Hey, I am just dropping by to say, that I lived there In the spring of 09. I am in room 109 or 108 i forgot. How are you liking it so far? Have you done any traveling?

Tot: 0.403s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 117; dbt: 0.2976s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb