Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
January 7th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

When I last left you, I was about to take the train from Athens to Prague... I think at least a 38 hr. journey, when alas! the cheap low cost carrier sky europe! Cheaper and faster 2hr. to Prague, but leaving at 4 am! I arrived in Prague this morning and it is cold here!! Yesterday was a nice warm day in Athens, but here winter is here. It has already snowed once in Olomouc. I found Prague to be frusturating because I was a. tired, b. tired and c. tired. Makes sense... Plus, they use the Czech crown, not the Euro... what rebels. In my sleepwalking like state, I somehow ended up at the train station where I left almost immediately to Olomouc, pop. 100,000, capital of the Moravian region and just sixty km from Slovakia. At Olomouc, I have a friend who met me and I slept the rest of the day at her familys house. excuse the grammar, it is hard to write with a Czech keyboard.
I whine about a 38 hr. train trip but for mz great grandfather who came from the Czech Rep. to Wisconsin, it was a long journey indeed. It is very much a farming region here, so he must have felt at home in Wisconsin. I may try to go to the village where he came from, Spule right.
Finally, an interesting insight... Martinas father is Catholic and held onto his beliefs during Communism, which his other daughter had problems getting an education because he was openly religous.
Some insights...
sky europe is the best!!!!!!! seriously, a 38 hr. train trip...
I am back on a normal schedule, no dinners at midnight...
they smoke a lot less than in greece... clean air anyone...
there are fewer people here who speak english, especially in Prague... gasp! the tourist mecca of Europe.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb